Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
what would be the smarter choice? >

what would be the smarter choice?

what would be the smarter choice?

Old 06-22-2011, 11:40 PM
Tech Rookie

Default what would be the smarter choice?

I have a Traxxas bandit (legacy). At first I loved it and I still do. But its really out dated so Ive been thinking of upgrading it. I Was thinking of making it into a VXL but I dont know if that would be the best way of giving it a second life. Ive had a few problems like the msc going up in smoke, The shocks popping open (upgrading to aluminum when the $ finds its way to me) But I'm not sure witch route to go. I'm a noob to all this, the only thing i really know how to do is drive. I know Traxxas is more of a bashing brand but I was looking forward to racing too. So the big question is whats a good setup? Thank you all in advance.
Old 06-23-2011, 05:02 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Sounds like your money would be better spent on a new one that would let you race without a lot of changes. You'll wind up upgrading (if upgrades are even available) every area of the Bandit as a VXL brushless setup will ID every weak link in the drive train and car.
Old 06-23-2011, 07:47 AM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by Giggling Stoner View Post
I have a Traxxas bandit (legacy). At first I loved it and I still do. But its really out dated so Ive been thinking of upgrading it. I Was thinking of making it into a VXL but I dont know if that would be the best way of giving it a second life. Ive had a few problems like the msc going up in smoke, The shocks popping open (upgrading to aluminum when the $ finds its way to me) But I'm not sure witch route to go. I'm a noob to all this, the only thing i really know how to do is drive. I know Traxxas is more of a bashing brand but I was looking forward to racing too. So the big question is whats a good setup? Thank you all in advance.