Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Where do I start? >

Where do I start?

Where do I start?

Old 08-09-2004, 05:32 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Where do I start?

Ok, please bear with my lack of tech terminology, I am a newbie in training.

I just got handed to me a nitro rc truck/buggy (not sure the diffrence) and controller. (Radio?)
Anyways, I was told it is a decent truck but needs work. So far it cost me zero. It has been sitting for some time maybe a year or 2 or more.

potential Problems that I can see..
There seems to be fuel gummed up in the tank down by the fuel pickup. The shocks squeak a little when compressed, the air intake seems to be missing. The retainer for the 4 AA batteries is busted, the pull start doesn't pull easy at all. there is a black plastic gear that looks like it SHOULD be attached to a metal disc next to the motor.

I guess my questions are things like How do I know if the motor is still good. what kinds of things should I look for other than what I have seen listed above. What things should be replaced without even thinking? (Someone told me glo plugs and get a plug warmer??)

This is my first real rc that is not a "Radio Trash" or "Walmart" rc toy. Any words of wisdom or help would be great!
Old 08-09-2004, 07:59 PM
Tech Regular

Default Re: Where do I start?

Originally posted by luminadevil
Ok, please bear with my lack of tech terminology, I am a newbie in training.

I just got handed to me a nitro rc truck/buggy (not sure the diffrence) and controller. (Radio?)
Anyways, I was told it is a decent truck but needs work. So far it cost me zero. It has been sitting for some time maybe a year or 2 or more.

potential Problems that I can see..