Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Traxxas T max help >

Traxxas T max help

Traxxas T max help

Reply

Old 11-08-2010, 09:33 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
gregorys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sprague, Ne
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Unhappy Traxxas T max help

HI guys,
I'm new to the forms here.

I was wondering if i could get some advice on what to do next.

I bought a used tmax 2.5

It had a bad tranny, i got that fixed.

The one way bearing was starting to fail in the pull starter. I got that fixed.

I ran it yesterday with some problems, the boot that goes over the carb linkage got stuck wide open and of course i didn't have my brakes set enough to stop it. i had a run away first mistake!

Well here is my problem, i cant seem after putting the new starter on and cleaning the the unit all up i can't seem to get it started again. I had it running once after putting everything back together, and it died but it will not start again.

I went to traxxas website on setting the carb to factory defaults, i got the HSN set but where is a good starting point for the idle need??

any help is very much appreciated.

Thanks!!
gregorys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 06:11 AM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Starting point for idle with the air cleaner off so you can see the gap in the slide, set idle screw for about a 1mm gap. Put the air cleaner back on and try it.


http://www.traxxas.com/support/index...t=tuning+a+2.5
Duster_360 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 07:16 AM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
gregorys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sprague, Ne
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

i will try this
gregorys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 09:35 PM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
gregorys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sprague, Ne
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

update:

I did some research today

found out that the HSN is very very touchy.

after taking carb apartt i found out that i had over tightened the HSN and it had stripped and broke.

I guess these needles are VERY VERY touchy.

i kid you not i BARLEY event turned that sucker!!

After dumping 40 bucks for a new carb i am up and running.
gregorys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 08:51 AM
  #5  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

In case no one has ever told you, tune these by turning needles 1 - 2 hours at a time (think of the face of a clock). They are sensitive, and it doesn't take much adj to make a big change in tune.

They also tell you to 'lightly' seat the needles when going back to stock settings. Glad you're back running....
Duster_360 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 10:14 AM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
gregorys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sprague, Ne
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the advice it's very much appreciated.

This is my first nitro, i leanred the hard way!! I will know better next time.

thanks again!!!
gregorys is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service