Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Im a Greenhorn.... > Im a Greenhorn....

Im a Greenhorn....

Old 09-04-2010, 05:57 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Smile Im a Greenhorn....

Hi there,
im very new to this hobby and would like to have some views from the experts and veterns R/C hobbist before buying my 1st R/C cars. For newbie like me, which type would you guys recommend? Nitro or electric? RTR or kit? Hope to get good feedback from you guys as im quite interested in this hobby. Thanks in advance...Cheers
Old 09-04-2010, 06:40 AM
Tech Master

Do you plan on racing or just goofing around?
Old 09-04-2010, 11:03 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

Originally Posted by greenruby79 View Post
Hi there,
im very new to this hobby and would like to have some views from the experts and veterns R/C hobbist before buying my 1st R/C cars. For newbie like me, which type would you guys recommend? Nitro or electric? RTR or kit? Hope to get good feedback from you guys as im quite interested in this hobby. Thanks in advance...Cheers
I like both electric and nitro....depending on where you live and your skill level will determine what will be the best for you.
Nitro is noisy smelly and messy. It requires tuning skill and more maintenance than electric. One stupid mistake and you will need a new engine.
Electric is quiet and cleaner. You will need a quality charger and batteries.
Both require investments and most likely are similiar in costs. Nitro maybe more expensive because of the price of fuel today.
I would first determine onroad/offroad and a scale....1/10 is a good start then electric/nitro then set up a realistic budget. All RC is a money pit.....(BE WARNED) You are looking at an investment of $300 and up
Let us know what you decide on.....
Old 09-04-2010, 11:22 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)