Search

Just Saying Hi!

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2010, 07:30 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Talking Just Saying Hi!

Hey--

I'm new to the sport and to the forum. Just wanted to say Hi. My son kinda hooked me into this. Just got a Slash 4x4 which I find really impressive.

I went to the local track Sunday (about 65 miles away) and ran my truck a little during the practice time. Ended up feeling I was clogging up the works pretty significantly. The other drivers were NOT making me feel that way. Just got tired of being right in the middle of almost every multi-vehicle wreck.
So I just kind of ended up watching a lot and marshalling some & had a good day.
On the way home it dawned on me that the infield at a baseball diamond might be a good place to practice. I have checked out a couple and tried one. It is working great. I'm running on a dirt surface, it is big enough to get up to a little speed. I use the bases for corners. There are no jumps, but I'm finding that the practice is pretty good for someone that's totally new to this deal.

That's all I have for now. Happy to be here.

Pete
Old 08-04-2010, 09:48 AM
Tech Rookie

Welcome to the hobby! I joined the same way (without using my son as an excuse) with the slash 4x4.

One thing on the slash to watch out for is the slipper bearing, especially when running on a baseball diamond with fine dust/durt. Make sure you keep it clean and oiled or packed with grease.

Last edited by spicybrown; 08-04-2010 at 11:32 AM.
Old 08-04-2010, 10:34 AM
Tech Master

+1 that's how I got the bug. Started w/VXL Pede and 3s Lipo tearing up baseball diamonds.
Old 08-04-2010, 11:26 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)

Hi!
Old 08-04-2010, 10:40 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)

Welcome to the hobby,and welcome to the best rc site on the face of this planet.Any questions you have just start posting and people will be more than glad to help you out.
Old 08-05-2010, 12:32 AM
Tech Elite