Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Need some expertise!

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2010, 04:30 PM
Tech Rookie

Questions?? Need some expertise!

Hey all I am a Rookie to the RC thing as a whole. But I am working on a RC type project for my personal use. Can someone help me? I want to know if I can remotely control an 18V cordless drill motor forward and reverse. I want ti to operate somewhat like a tank would two joysticks, controlling two motors forward and reverse. Can anyone tell me the most cost effective way to do this and make it hold up for a period time? I need the high torque drill motors cause i will be adding some weight to the top of the buggy... any help or links to follow would be great thanks in advance for all the help...
Old 07-22-2010, 07:24 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 211 (100%+)

Welcome to the world of RC!
Interesting this is your first project but I wish you luck.

I have no links to provide but you may want to check out the Titan 775 motors that come on the Summit and/or brushless 550 cans. The 775 motors should be cheaper, you know they're made for what you're trying to do (kind of!) and they are everywhere.

Brushless would be better and depending on a budget you could get a super low KV 1521 Neu motor or something with a ton of torque or a Chinese version.
Definitely post pics when you're done. I'm interested!
Old 07-22-2010, 07:39 PM
Tech Apprentice

I couple of years back a guy at the local r/c track was building something simular using a 19.2 cordless drill motor and battery. I asked him the same question about how he going to control direction and told me that he was going to use mechanical speed control but just could not find one and luckely I had one on me and I just gave it to him. They can be found on older r/c type vehicals and are relatively cheap. Good luck would like to see it when done
Old 07-22-2010, 10:30 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)