Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
New to the Hobby, need help identifying parts... >

New to the Hobby, need help identifying parts...

New to the Hobby, need help identifying parts...

Old 07-07-2010, 09:04 PM
Tech Initiate

Default New to the Hobby, need help identifying parts...

Hello all, I'm hcr13 and I'm new to the Nitro RC racing scene. I've always wanted one of these "gas" powered racers since I was a kid and saw a few grownups playing in some parking lot somewhere. This weekend I got a pretty good deal on a Ofna racer. I paid $25 for it but its missing a few key components to make it work. So far I've concluded that its some sort of Ofna product (don't know exact model or name) and its a 4x4. The motor seems to have pretty good compression (when pulling the rip cord). I've included a few pics to see if you guys can help me figure out what all is needed to make this puppy run. I've been doing some research for a day or two now but I still don't know the exact components needed. From my research, I've gathered that I need an air filter, a steering servo (in the mail), all the transmitter stuff (crystals, transmitter, receiver, etc) also in the mail. I believe I also need the 2 driveshafts the connect the motor to the front and back differentials (is that the correct term?). And of course lastly, a body and spoiler. If you guys can provide me with as much information about this car, I would greatly appreciate it. I'd also like to get some info on possibly how the fuel system works since I'm guessing it uses a special fuel with other mixtures (oil?). I'm not new to the motosports world, I have an actual Trans Am I've been working and building on for a few years now, so I'm not afraid to take things apart. Thanks again guys!

Old 07-07-2010, 09:59 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)