Community
Wiki Posts
Search

which radio should I buy? Spektrum...?

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2009, 05:49 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default which radio should I buy? Spektrum...?

Hello,
I am still new to RC and read a lot throught this forum, but could not find the information to decide which radio & receiver I should buy.

I read a lot from the different Spektrums, e.g. DX3S or DX3E, but there are also other brands which most properly are cheaper, but which ones are good? e.g. MX Sport or from Futaba?
I am sure what is makes sense to buy one with 2.4GHz technology, but do I need a 3rd channel? Makes the telemetry sense if I will drive only electric cars, e.g. can it tell me the motor temperatures or rpm of a brushless motor and makes it sense? GPS to get the speed might be fine, but required?

I have an E-Revo with Traxxas radio and thinking of buying a buggy where I need a radio&receiver, not sure if and when another car will follow
Thank you

Last edited by espcarino; 12-05-2009 at 06:08 PM.
Old 12-05-2009, 06:34 PM

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)

i've told many a person to do this, so i will tell u. b/c it works despite soundin dumb. go to ur hobby shop or raceshop and check em out. ask to hold em them and see how they feel in ur hand. if the shop wont let u, then dont buy there. but hold them and see how they feel in ur hand. strike up a conversation w/the employee bout anythin rc. anythin, racing, classes, idiots on rctech, etc etc. try all teh 1s in ur price range that meet your needs. the 1 you forget your holding is the 1 you want. doesnt matter what 'features' it has, if its not comfortable it'll impede your enjoyment of the hobby.

good luck

R
Old 12-05-2009, 10:47 PM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by ultegrasti