Community
Wiki Posts
Search

HELP me find the suitable batteries/charger

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2009, 08:15 PM
Tech Initiate

Default HELP me find the suitable batteries/charger

I'm a beginner and i need some help on buying batteries.
Also i'm confused about all those ESC and BEC,can anyone tell me in detailed.

My transmitter/receiver:
ww.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...z_2Ch_Tx_&_Rx_
My servos
ww.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...sp?idProduct=2

What type of battery do i have to buy for the receiver and Servos?
Do i need a ESC, or a BEC?.All the battery i have looked are at least 7.4V,which my receiver can't handle at all.

If anyone could explain or recommend one,please help me find the items on
ww.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_index.asp

Www=i was unable to post URLs
Old 12-23-2009, 01:21 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Your links don't work. Just give the model # and brand of the stuff.

Also, you didn't mention what vehicle you are using. You will need an ESC (assuming your vehicle is electric), and your batteries will depend completely on what vehicle you are putting them in and the capabilities of your ESC and possibly even the current your motor draws.

Don't worry that your receiver can't handle 7.4v, the ESC will not supply full power to the receiver. Usually only 6v or less goes to the receiver even in 22.2v setups.
Old 12-23-2009, 09:00 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

ESC is an Electronic Speed Controller
BEC is a Battery Eliminator Circuit

In days gone by you had to run a receiver pack for your radio and for servo power. Now with electronics your ESC usually has an internal BEC so it eliminates the need for the receiver battery, as it states above. The speed controller takes the full power of the battery and controls the speed and direction of the motor. the internal BEC then taps off this power and delivers approx 4 - 6 volts to the receiver plug to power the radio and servos.