Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Begginer , new to rcs ;)

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2009, 01:11 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Begginer , new to rcs ;)

Hey im new to rc cars but im interested in nitro rc cars. Im just wondering does anyone have advice in which like scales and motors and engines i should go for? It would be much appreciated
thanks haha
Old 12-06-2009, 10:51 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

If you are a beginner start with electric. Nitro requires WAY more maintnance and repairs. Here are a few companies that make good nitro and electric cars:

Team associated
Team Losi
Traxxas
Hpi
Ofna

Go on these sites and look at the different models. Get a RTR(ready to run). So that when you get it you can drive it. You won't need to buy a motor or transmitter. You can also go to your local hobby shop and see waht they would recommend to you.
Old 12-11-2009, 04:30 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Yeah, B4Power is definitely right. Many beginners go to electric offroad because with the new electric technology( brushless systems, Li-po batteries ) because with the brushless system( motor and electronic speed control ), you almost don't need to do anything once you install it, and offroad because most people just enjoy the bumps and jumps

What I see are many beginners going with Slashes, which are electric offroad trucks. They are durable, cheap, and racing them is just plain fun.

Hope all I did helps!!
Old 12-11-2009, 04:34 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Might I add that the Slashes are only $195.00 or less and are RTR( ready to run ). All you will need is an 8.4-volt battery and a basic battery charger. Check if your local hobby shop supplies electric equipment.
Old 12-13-2009, 09:40 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

Originally Posted by B4power
If you are a beginner start with electric. Nitro requires WAY more maintnance and repairs. Here are a few companies that make good nitro and electric cars:

Team associated
Team Losi