Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
new to r/c world >

new to r/c world

new to r/c world

Old 03-04-2002, 11:17 AM
Tech Rookie

Default new to r/c world w/ rc10ce

hey guys im new to the r/c world. i just picked up a rc10ce from one of my friends. its an electric one. i was told i need to pick up a controller,reciever, oil for shocks ( car hasnt been used for 6 years), charger. do you guys suggest any other items? i need some help on getting this car setup. anyone of any tips & tricks of this car? thanks

Last edited by VDUBGTI; 03-04-2002 at 01:44 PM.
Old 03-04-2002, 07:16 PM
Tech Elite

For and electric R/C the basics are....

- transmitter
- reciever
- servo x 1
- Esc
- 540 motor
- 6 cell batt pack if it runs on 6 cells(Im not familiar with the rc10ce but I'm guessing it runs on 6 cells)
- charger(preferably peak detection)

And if it has rubber tyres then you may need CA glue to glue the tyres to the rims.
Old 03-05-2002, 05:42 AM
Tech Adept

get spare parts....especially front suspensin arm....and turnbuckles.....if your not carfull youll need em...get at least 3 servos.....cuase if you hit something you might strip it...you can get em cheap so its no biggie..get the intellipeak charger..its 70 and had discharge, cycle, and peak.....het a mod motor, theyre more fun...GET AN ESC WITH REVERSE.....make sure it has reverse disable...i know that not having reverse made it suck when i first started....have fun..hoped we hlped..if not he did.......oh yeah and remember the higher number on the battery, the beter.....dont get under 1700....my experience.....but have fun
Old 03-05-2002, 07:59 AM
Tech Rookie

thanks guys for the help
Old 03-06-2002, 03:32 AM
Tech Elite

Don't waste your money on a stack of spare parts and servo's - you'll probably end up with a box of bits you'll never use - just replace bits as they break.

I've been racing for a total of about seven years - I've broken one servo in that time.
Old 03-06-2002, 07:35 AM
Tech Adept