Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Another noob lipo quiz

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2009, 12:34 AM
Tech Regular

Default Another noob lipo quiz

Here we go with more noobish questions re lipos. i have inherited a couple of yeah racing 3200 lipos.now,i have just got back into rc from a long layoff.figuring out nmhs and charging/discharging etc was a step from the good ole simple nicad days.i am running 1/10 onroad touring.27t motor to abide our pro stock rules.these lipos i got now,when charging them do i balance them at the same time? i have a muchmore cellmaster for charging my nmhs.this apparently charges lipos.i hear it pays to have a charger/balancer in one? I have been looking at a hotworks charger They charge all Lipo, Li-lo, NiMH, NiCad battery packs up to 5amps.they balance as well. my 32's have deans plugs fitted.so the main leads obviously connect up to the charger.this small balance plug beside the main one,does this connect up at the same time as charging? are there gadgets that plug into the discharge plug during use that read the current volt reading? i am running a lrp quantum(the most basic bottom end one) this wont have a cutoff.i have a novak gtb waiting to go in.do these have aa built in lipo cuttoff? how does it work? does it just shut every thing down? are these lipo sacks a good invertment?the thought of one of these lipos letting go and burning down my spare/hobby/junk room,sucks.
Well,cheers for reading my lipo brain fart if anyone out there could figure out my ramblings and answer any of my questions i would be very stoked.
cheers
Old 05-24-2009, 03:00 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Originally Posted by kneedeeppow
when charging them do i balance them at the same time?
You can balance while charging or discharging.

i have a muchmore cellmaster for charging my nmhs.this apparently charges lipos.i hear it pays to have a charger/balancer in one?