TC3 question

Old 01-28-2009, 04:22 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default TC3 question

I'm new to the electric R/C world. I've had a Tmaxx forever, but this is totally different. I got my TC3 about a month ago, but just tonight it decided to quit running. I did just lock the front diff yesterday, but it has ran fine for about two hours since that. Now when pull the trigger the light on the engine lights up, but nothing else happens. I was able to manually spin the tires and get the engine to run, but once I let the tires quit spinning it wouldn't do anything else. Now it won't even run when I manually spin the tires. This TC3 was used when I got it, does this just mean that my engine is done?
Old 01-28-2009, 05:57 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default Dead TC3

I would check battery condition 1st and all connectors. Make sure the battery is fully charged and put the car on a stand. Check voltage at motor terminals with full throttle. If you have have a 6 cell pack you should get ~ 7.2 volts input. If you have good voltage the motor probably needs brushes or replacement. If not it may be the ESC is shot. Just my 2 cents.
Old 01-28-2009, 06:08 PM
Tech Addict

The battery is charged up and all of the connections seem to be fine. The motor is getting the voltage. I can turn the pinion gear with my fingers with the throttle wide open and every now and then the motor will turn, but not many RPM's at all. Then it quits just as quick as it started. How would I determine if its the motor or esc? The esc acts as if it is working fine, as the lights on it are working as they are suppose to. The light on the motor is also working as it is suppose to.
Old 01-28-2009, 06:57 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 152 (99%+)