Community
Wiki Posts
Search

nitro virgin, need advice for break in/maintance/accessories

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2008, 05:00 PM
Tech Rookie

Questions?? nitro virgin, need advice for break in/maintance/accessories

i'm a noob to nitro, well all "real" rc cars at that. anyways, i'm buying a revo 3.3 that has never been started/ran before. i know that you have to break the motor in, i know that you should run after run oil or something like that after you've drove it...but i dont know the details that go along with all of this. any advice on the DO's and DONT's to breaking in a motor, and how to properly maintain, clean and store a nitro truck would be greatly appreciated.

i plan on buying a rollcage for while i'm breaking it in. any other accessories to get or stay away from?

and any general advice would be great too. i want to take care of this truck properly, and i want it to last.
Old 10-09-2008, 05:37 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

well i see your off to a good start that you want to take care of it and make it last

with the engine break in you want to follow the instructions that come with it and make sure you follow them to break it in proper the roll cage aint a bad idea but if your gonna race it it actually might get in the way but as for bashing thats a good extra to have but yes you want to buy some after run oil and put a couple of drops after each day of running and also after every gallon to gallon and a half you want to inspect all the bearings well at least thats what i do but its manditory that you change the clutchbell bearings but just keep it clean and try not to do anything to crazy with it and it should last you for some years to come i once had a savage that lasted 4 years of constant beating and bashing and never broke annything and i really did drive that dam thing hard but you just have to keep up on the matinence and you should be good
Old 10-09-2008, 06:52 PM
Tech Rookie

mandatory that i change the clutchbell housing?