Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Whats wrong with me speed control! >

Whats wrong with me speed control!

Whats wrong with me speed control!

Reply

Old 01-13-2002, 08:30 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Crowder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 8
Default Whats wrong with me speed control!

i got a LRP forward and Brake for stock racing!

When i used it it suddenly started getting very hot and making a popping and sizzling sound!!!!! guess i need a new one but what went wrong with that??? had it about 6 months and have about 2hours use out of it????


What speed control do u recommened i get next! the price at me track is limited to 50 puond! 75 dolars! i was thinking a LRP ic Sport?????
Crowder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 09:05 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
Balak Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 172
Default

Well, there could be any number of things wrong with it, but I'm going to take a few guesses. Since you are from England, it does get a little wet there. Was there a chance of any water getting inside your ESC? That would pretty much insantly fry it. How many cells were you using? If you were using more that the ESC could handle, that would do it in too. What kind of motor were you using? Some ESCs can't handle hot mod motors. I would send the ESC back to LRP and see if you can get them ot repair it for you. It might be cheaper than buying a new one.

Bryan
Balak Racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 09:11 AM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Crowder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 8
Default

Hang on Just tried it again and it seems ok

it could well have got wet!!!!! theres a gap in the bottom (wher its coming apart) and it may have got wet??? its alittle dam out side!!!!!!
Crowder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2002, 10:20 PM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: INDIANA
Posts: 2
Default

well i had a simaler problem but i had just started and when i put it in i had the wires on my dean plug backwards and it short circuted and it got REALLY hot and it smoked and also just wondering do you have exposed wire and heat sinks cause i learned that when exposed wire touches the heat sink the whole thing smokes and short circuts oh yeah and i have a dually and i suggest that you should look into novak esc's if you want a knew one

Last edited by jepetto098; 02-01-2002 at 10:23 PM.
jepetto098 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2002, 03:15 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore, Jurong East
Posts: 1,654
Default

Hmm make sure u used schotty diodes on your motor?
Alvin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2002, 08:33 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
Evil_S10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 406
Arrow

Another thing, make sure your speed control can take the motor you put on it.
Evil_S10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2002, 03:00 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: hehehe...
Posts: 294
Default

Sir im new to this hobby and i got a question, i own a TB-01 Mitsubishi Lancer EVO VI and installed Tamiya Type T super stock motor and an LRP Truck Digital ESC, now my question is with regards to my ESC motor limit it says in the box 35A and i am planning of buying modified motor to satisfy my need for speed, is it possible for me to install a 17x4 motor?or how many winds does a 35A motor have? does 35A means 35 amps?! thanks in advance!
killer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service