Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Servo arm help needed >

Servo arm help needed

Servo arm help needed

Old 08-22-2003, 02:53 PM
Tech Rookie

Servo arm help needed

Hi all, I have a question that is probably laughable to most of you.
I'm new to R/C Cars (4 days new in fact) and I bought a Duratrax RTR Evader ST, thats not the laughable bit btw I used about 6 packs and then crashed it into a rock, which promptly stripped one of the servo gears.
I decided that as the nylon teeth broke so easily I would get a servo with metal gears and I went out and bought myself a Hitec 645MG thinking that it would be just the job.
Unfortunately the servo arm that came with the truck just slips on the servo output spline when I try to stear.
The servo output spline is just a bit too small to mesh properly with the arm.
Is there anyway that I can fix this without resorting to something permanent like gluing or putting a pin through the arm and the servo spline?
Any help or suggestions would be greatley apreciated.

Steve.
Old 08-22-2003, 07:13 PM
Tech Master

Your problem is easy enough to solve, but I think you should understand it a bit first.

Okay, the servo that comes with your truck is produced by Futaba, while you have purchased a servo made by Hitec. Unfortunately, these servos' spline's are actually different. The Futaba has a 25 toothed spline, while the Hitec has a 24 toothed spline. So there was no way that the stock servo horn from the Duratrax kit would have worked properly with your new Hitec servo.

So the solution is to buy a servo horn that is made especially for the Hitec servo. Bring in your servo, along with your truck to your local hobby shop, that way they can help you sort out any confusion, because you can't use just any servo horn for your application.
Old 08-22-2003, 11:06 PM
Tech Addict

Gearstripper,