Wiki Posts
Search

Recommendations on a beginner kit

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2008, 12:15 AM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Recommendations on a beginner kit

Hello all, stumbled on this forum looking to pick up an r/c car. I was out today goofing off with a friend and a pair of radio shack type things and I realized I'd love to invest (read: sink money) in a "real" r/c car. Assuming I've got zero experience and zero gear, I'm wondering where I should get started given a number of criteria (in no particular order):

1) It's gotta be a kit. I'd rather avoid the simplicity of a RTR car and build a kit from the ground up. I'd like to know the ins and outs before I start tearing about the neighborhood recklessly.

2) Buggie/truggie type vehicle (ideally). I'm not looking for any serious offroading, but it's gotta be able to handle grass, potholes, cracks in the pavement, etc. I used to have one of these as a kid and recall it was a whole bunch of fun. Unfortunately, it's been long since retired to the scrap heap.

3) Electric. I'd prefer not to fiddle with nitro just yet.

4) Durable. I know no reasonably r/c car is going to survive a headlong drive into the curb, but I'd like to be able to goof off around campus without irreparable harm.

5) Powerful. Duh. It should go fast. It should handle well. It should be fun to drive. This is probably the least important to begin with, however. I'd rather start small than buy a car too powerful for me to handle.

6) Upgradeable. I'm not sure how deep into the hobby I'm going to get, but I'd like to be able to swap parts in and out as necessary and gradually build a formidable machine. It'd also be nice to be able to buy another car and mix and match parts as necessary. I'd love to be able to properly race too once I get some practice in.