Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Super Noob needs Help! >

Super Noob needs Help!

Super Noob needs Help!

Old 05-01-2008, 04:13 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Super Noob needs Help!

Hello all...new to the forums and first post because I'm in need of help/advice on a truggy I just picked up. First of all, I'm completely new to this scene...I've always seen'em around, always wanted to get one (but never did) up until now.

I just recently bought a Jammin X1 CRT used from another guy here on-island...couldn't pass up the deal at $300 for an excellent shape truggy with all of the upgrades and tools that he included.

Anyway, a friend of mine is already deep into this hobby, but is more into the drifters. He helped me get it going to try it out to make sure it ran before I took it home. We changed out all the batteries, the glowplug, etc. to make sure we'd be good to go. He got it started using the true start box (blue with chrome lid) after a few tries and that thing was off and running...omg it's fast!

I got all excited, took it home, and tried to get it started on my own, but was unsucessful. The couple of times I did get it started, it would die when I gave it gas. Then after trying a few times, it would start, but would start rev'ing really high and loud, the wheels start going, as if I was gunning it and I thought it was gonna blow up...lol Me being new and all, I'm damn scared of these kinda things. Anyway, I wanted to know if anyone could give me any advice on what may be happening. I may just take it up to my friends house and have him try re-tuning it, if that's what it needs. I had planned on giving this to my 10 year old son, but I'm not too sure anymore...think this may be a lot more than what he needs. Thanks in advance!
Old 05-01-2008, 05:52 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)