Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Help a beginner? >

Help a beginner?

Help a beginner?

Old 03-10-2008, 01:31 PM
Tech Rookie

Questions?? Help a beginner?

Ok, I am a 13 year old who has had a Cyclone S RTR for about 3 months (from Christmas). I am completely new to this hobby and have just been browsing this forum for tips. So far, I have messed around with it in my neighborhood and school, and gotten somewhat bored from the stock setup. I was curious as to what I should upgrade first. Anyone know if they can help me out? Thanks in advance! This is an unbelievably addicting hobby.
Old 03-10-2008, 03:03 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)

brushless is prolly the best upgrade you can get for what youre using it for atm.
Old 03-10-2008, 03:55 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Originally Posted by not home View Post
brushless is prolly the best upgrade you can get for what youre using it for atm.
i agree!!! that or you can get a bigger motor better battery
Old 03-11-2008, 04:56 AM
Tech Regular

Cyclone S, excellent car and good hopups. 1st is better batterys and good charger. You'll be amazed at the improvement, even without extra bling. Next is the motor, then probably suspension and tyers
whatever you do, have fun doing it!!!!!
Old 03-11-2008, 05:50 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

racing just go, even with the stock setup, and you'll have fun. then just make it round the track without crashing, and gear up a few teeth on the pinion every meeting.
Old 03-11-2008, 08:55 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)

Brushless system and lipo batteries.
Old 03-11-2008, 10:38 PM
Tech Rookie

Well, thanks for all the tips ! I think I'll go with bobbitrc's advice and upgrade the battery and charger. I was thinking the 6000 HV 2S2P Li-po pack and the Hyperion Eos6i AC/DC Charger, then some brushless 10.5 turn motor and esc combo. What do you guys think (about the motor combo and battery)?