Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Novak ESC/Motor Compatibility chart? >

Novak ESC/Motor Compatibility chart?

Novak ESC/Motor Compatibility chart?

Reply

Old 03-07-2008, 10:53 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Novak ESC/Motor Compatibility chart?

Hi folks!!! I have searched through 64 threads so far looking for a chart That would tell me what novak brushless motors would work with Novak brushless ESCs and have Lipo cutoff.

I have heard that the GTB is the Grand Daddy of them all so to speak, but right now my budget won't allow me to spend over 200 dollars needed for a GTB brushless system.

I apologize if I missed the thread that contained the chart info or link.

Thanks, and very good site,

Scotty
ScottyRC08 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 12:46 AM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
beez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I'm also a newbie, so don't change your plans based completely on me, but I was also looking at the novak system and then I discovered some info about the Castle Creations Sidewinder system and I think I'm probably going to go with that now. It's way cheaper and the people who use it seem to love it.

There's a lot for us to figure out. Good luck.
beez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 09:38 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
losi god's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: minersville pa.
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

check out novak's web site they acually have everything they ever made on there
losi god is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 09:59 PM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
 
RCpro7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Surf City, HB
Posts: 55
Default

Hey beez, are you gone race w/ your car or bash? If your planning on bashing go with the Castle Creations, BUT if your planning on racing DEFINITELY go with Novak's GTB. There are many more motor turns to choce from such as: Novak 3.5r, 4.5r, 5.5r, 6.5r, 7.5r, 8.5r. 10.5r, and 13.5r

O! and ScottyRC08, the GTB can handle any Novak Brushless motor, and i believe it can handle LRP Brushless motors also! But if you cant afford the GTB get the Novak XBR. It comes as combos w/ 8.5, 10.5, and 13.5 motors.

Hope that helped.
RCpro7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 11:38 PM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCpro7 View Post
Hey beez, are you gone race w/ your car or bash? If your planning on bashing go with the Castle Creations, BUT if your planning on racing DEFINITELY go with Novak's GTB. There are many more motor turns to choce from such as: Novak 3.5r, 4.5r, 5.5r, 6.5r, 7.5r, 8.5r. 10.5r, and 13.5r

O! and ScottyRC08, the GTB can handle any Novak Brushless motor, and i believe it can handle LRP Brushless motors also! But if you cant afford the GTB get the Novak XBR. It comes as combos w/ 8.5, 10.5, and 13.5 motors.

Hope that helped.
Thanks RCpro, I ended up getting a xbr 10.5 combo on ebay. I thought I was going after the 13.5 from the same seller but it was the 10.5 instead. oh well. guess I will find out what all I can do with it this Saturday when I go racing. i'm slowly figuring out my ICE and cycling my 3300 packs. I was going to get the 4600 ener-g cells but was told by a couple of the racers that run the 7.5 that they only use up around 2400-2600 of their 4600 so 3300's should work for me being a rookie, plus the price I paid for all 3 Trinity Reference 3300 packs new, was still cheaper than the one 4600 6 cells. Plus, I didn't really have the funds to buy a couple of the 4600's to begin with. So I guess I will see what happens.
ScottyRC08 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 08:43 AM
  #6  
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Originally Posted by ScottyRC08 View Post
Thanks RCpro, I ended up getting a xbr 10.5 combo on ebay. I thought I was going after the 13.5 from the same seller but it was the 10.5 instead. oh well. guess I will find out what all I can do with it this Saturday when I go racing. i'm slowly figuring out my ICE and cycling my 3300 packs. I was going to get the 4600 ener-g cells but was told by a couple of the racers that run the 7.5 that they only use up around 2400-2600 of their 4600 so 3300's should work for me being a rookie, plus the price I paid for all 3 Trinity Reference 3300 packs new, was still cheaper than the one 4600 6 cells. Plus, I didn't really have the funds to buy a couple of the 4600's to begin with. So I guess I will see what happens.
I think you're on the right track, the batteries won't be an issue for getting started. Focus on running nice clean smooth laps.

Good luck, and welcome to racing.
Dave H is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 03:06 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
beta bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,101
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Yea Dave H is right the batteries are perfectly fine for you. I used SMC 3600's and they were great when i first started but as you get better instead of paying over 200$ for like three or four top of the line packs spend like 80-90$ on a lipo battery. I can't remember if the ICE can charge lipos but a good lipo charger is like another 60-90$. Integy has one that is 55$ if you have a power supply and is a really good lipo charger.
beta bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 06:40 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
hyperguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,247
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by beta bob View Post
Yea Dave H is right the batteries are perfectly fine for you. I used SMC 3600's and they were great when i first started but as you get better instead of paying over 200$ for like three or four top of the line packs spend like 80-90$ on a lipo battery. I can't remember if the ICE can charge lipos but a good lipo charger is like another 60-90$. Integy has one that is 55$ if you have a power supply and is a really good lipo charger.
yes the ICE charger does charge lipo's
hyperguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 10:56 PM
  #9  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I was concidering lipo but the track I am going to, the owner says its an advantage, and that he wants to keep everything as low cost as possible and everyone on a level playing field so everyone can enjoy the sport and not be intemidated by what others have. You can even ask the guys that win alot there, and they will all say that, that particular track is a "driver's track" some win with 3600 nimh packs and some win with 4200's etc.

Alot of the people that race there want the lipo for just pure convience, and in the longer run, cheaper....
ScottyRC08 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 08:30 AM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
superdave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: mars
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

yep just go to novaks website and it has everything on there from like 1988 or some where around there
superdave2 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service