Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
KO radio set problems >

KO radio set problems

KO radio set problems

Reply

Old 02-21-2008, 02:20 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
losidan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 40
Default KO radio set problems

Evening chaps.

Wonder if someone could give me a little help. A few months ago I bought a 2nd hand KO EX11 Presto radio set off ebay.

I was going to have a blast with it tonight but I have run into a problem. The ESC doesnt seem to like it or I think it is jiggered. I can steer with it but there is no throttle. When I use my old radio set and switch on the ESC flashes as normal if I want to set it up.

When i switch on with the KO set the light doesnt come on at all...I am wondering if the Ko set is knacked and that is why there is no throttle? If it is the case, is it repairable?

Thanks ahead chaps
Dan
losidan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 09:59 PM
  #2  
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Are you using the same servo?

Doubt if this is it, especially if you are using the same servo, but way back when, nearly 20 years ago, KO (and others) used different orders of the three little wires on servo and ESC leads. Different little plugs even. Make sure everything is in the same order as what works. Don't know when they changed, I thought it was a long time ago. Also not familiar with your KO model. But I had to do this with my EX-1, 1st generation I think they are. Which I loved and still use, along with some new Spektrum stuff.

They may not all be the exact same colors, but generally there is a black, white, and something else. Or at least as close to those hues as ya can manage to match up.

One other possibility, but I really doubt this one, is incompatible crystals. Are you trying to use your previous crystals? Frequently they are interchangeable, but not always. Been too long to remember all of the details, but I think 75MHz always worked for me, 27MHz Futabas didn't. The fact that you have steer and no go makes this really unlikely, when I had this problem nuttin worked.

Good luck
Dave H is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service