Which Traxxas Rustler for this rookie?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Which Traxxas Rustler for this rookie?

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2007, 05:57 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Which Traxxas Rustler for this rookie?

Ok, so I want to get the Traxxas Rustler but being that I'm new to rc I'm not sure whether I should get the standard Rustler or the Rustler VXL? Does it really make a difference? The price isn't much different but it appears that the power is. So I'm not sure if I should get the VXL. I don't know if the driving would be different from the two. If there isn't really any major difference or reason on why I shouldn't buy the VXL, then I'm going to.

Price at Superior Hobbies:
Rustler = $300
Rustler VXL = $325
Old 11-02-2007, 09:49 PM
Tech Master

Default rustler/rustler VXL

ask yourself if you want gas or electric? My opinion is VXL with a LiPo is awesome fassst!
Old 11-02-2007, 09:50 PM
Tech Master

Default rustler

Rustler can be upgraded with VXL pkg.
Old 11-03-2007, 03:01 AM
Tech Initiate

um, ur prices are way off. tower hobbies has the regular rustler vx-V or whatever it is for 170............the brushless is 320..............
Old 11-03-2007, 08:28 AM
Tech Initiate

Nitro Rustler
http://www.superiorhobbies.com/istar...&id=TRA4409!SH

Rustler VXL
http://www.superiorhobbies.com/istar...&id=TRA3708!SH

Superior Hobbies is my LHS. This is where I would like to purchase my rc. I just don't want to get a vehicle that may be too advanced for me, if that is possible, I'm not sure. Hence, the reason I'm posting in the Rookie Zone.
Old 11-03-2007, 11:12 AM
Tech Apprentice

go eletric first then nitro. nitro requiers a lot morer matnice and eletric is a little more basic. speed and power is about the same. the eletric with the right gearing and the right battery can go faster then the nitro(50+ the elctric a amazing 70+).even 70 mph is too fast for me but thats with the opinal gear.