Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Measuring DROOP and RIDE HEIGHT? >

Measuring DROOP and RIDE HEIGHT?

Measuring DROOP and RIDE HEIGHT?

Old 09-26-2007, 09:28 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Renuco612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Union City
Posts: 72
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Measuring DROOP and RIDE HEIGHT?

What is the right way to measure your droop? I am using the SPEEDMIND gauges and droop blocks. Do you have to use the blocks or can you put it just flat on the chassis? I have read on some TC5 setups the DROOP was 2mm REAR and 1mm FRONT for carpet with rubber wheels.

When I was setting my droop I tried to do that and it isn't possible if I use the droop blocks. or is it? I used the blocks and I got it at 6REAR and 5FRONT. is this right?

I'm pretty sure I'm using my ride height gauge right but it would be really helpful is someone can give me a quick HOW-TO so I can do it right. What is also the right way to adjust it?
Renuco612 is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 06:10 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,650
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

-Assuming all 4 shocks are built the the same lenght

I only use the droop blocks when im squaring up the car. While on the blocks use the guage to make sure that the left and right sides are the same, the front and rear will be different. Now that the car is symetrical. Put it race ready on a flat board. Set your ride heigh first. Now pull up on the shock tower and measuer the ride height at the point where the tires are just leaving the ground.

Subtract the ride height from that fully extened measurement and you have your uptravel(or droop)

EXAMPLE:
7mm(shocks fully extened tires leaving ground) minus 5mm(ride height) = 2mm uptravel or droop.


This is repeatable on any chassis and is the only way you can compare your car to brand xyz at the track.
Joel Lagace is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 03:57 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: jersey shore pa
Posts: 5,724
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

same as he said..make sure your shocks all the same size.

i dont have blocks...but if it says 2mm in the back and 1mm in the front...

i back out all droop screws,
set ride height to desired height, (example 5mm)
then in the front i set the chassi on the 5mm slot.screw the droop screw untill the tire lifts off of table.slowly back it out untill it rests on table.do the same to other front and that is 1mm of droop.

repeat the same process to the back but instead of 1mm its 2mm.

hope this helps.

matt
morris is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 11:01 AM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Team Ewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Memphis, TN.
Posts: 65
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by morris
same as he said..make sure your shocks all the same size.

i dont have blocks...but if it says 2mm in the back and 1mm in the front...

i back out all droop screws,
set ride height to desired height, (example 5mm)
then in the front i set the chassi on the 5mm slot.screw the droop screw untill the tire lifts off of table.slowly back it out untill it rests on table.do the same to other front and that is 1mm of droop.

repeat the same process to the back but instead of 1mm its 2mm.

hope this helps.

matt
Hello from Memphis,
I've been trying to get my head around this "droop business for quite some time now. This is the simplest explanation that really turns the lights on for me. Thanks guy and good racing to ya. Ron.
Team Ewing is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 02:13 PM
  #5  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,085
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by morris
i dont have blocks...but if it says 2mm in the back and 1mm in the front...

i back out all droop screws,
set ride height to desired height, (example 5mm)
then in the front i set the chassi on the 5mm slot.screw the droop screw untill the tire lifts off of table.slowly back it out untill it rests on table.do the same to other front and that is 1mm of droop.
Wouldn't that be 0 mm droop? Or did you mean you set the chassis on the 7mm slot?
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 02:22 PM
  #6  
Registered User
iTrader: (20)
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

xray setup guide, download it now and take it with you to the track every time

R
UltegraSTI is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 09:56 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: berwick PA
Posts: 241
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

i just use a ride height guage for checking the droop and ride height.

ill settle the suspension on the table and check the ride height.
if its 3mm then i lift the car/truck and check the fully extended height.
subtract the ride height from the total extened number and that is your droop.
jaredmausteller is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 09:17 AM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,085
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ultegrasti
xray setup guide, download it now and take it with you to the track every time

R
Holycrap the Xray setup guid book is awesome! They outline every single setup technique, for each aspect of the car, fully detailed, outlined, pictured, and in order. Incredible.
Cpt.America is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.