Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Discharging batterys ? >

Discharging batterys ?

Discharging batterys ?

Old 05-21-2007, 03:19 AM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney, australia
Posts: 27
Default Discharging batterys ?

i got my first car, and it came with 2 1800 Nicad batterys

Now, i've heard all this talk about discharging battery's ? do i need to do it to these Nicad ones ? is there a battery that doesn't require me to discharge ?

Thanks

Rob
Anthrax is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 04:52 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

lipo's dont need discharging, but theyre expensive and need different ESC's... just run the nicad batteries till the car is really slow then leave them to cool then charge them.
joe of loath is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 04:58 AM
  #3  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney, australia
Posts: 27
Default

My Charger says it can charge from 1,200 to 3,000 sized battery's

If i get a 3300 nimh battery will it ruin the battery or charger ?
Anthrax is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 05:19 AM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney, australia
Posts: 27
Default

whoops, it can charge any battery's, i was reading the wrong part.
Anthrax is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 08:26 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I run EP 4200's. What I do is when I get to the track I discharge my packs at 0.9v cut off on my Novak tray. I let them cool down and then I charge them at 5amp at 8.5v charge. After running I just put them away until next time leaving a charge in the pack.
BuggyKing is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 02:17 AM
  #6  
Suspended
iTrader: (1)
 
robot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: sydney
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

what about stick packs how do you discharge them
robot is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 06:05 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Originally Posted by robot
what about stick packs how do you discharge them
Stick packs are very difficult to discharge if you want to discharge each cell seperately.

Thats why the serious racers use either saddle packs, or an inline formation of cells, to allow their packs to be put in discharge trays.

If you are serious about racing, change your cells to inline or saddle packs and use a discharge tray.

It is possible to discharge them with a resistor and or a lamp, but you wont be discharging the cells equally, if you discharge from the end +ive and -ive terminals where your connections are.
tc3team is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.