Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Battery mAh levels? >

Battery mAh levels?

Battery mAh levels?

Old 01-14-2007, 11:02 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default Battery mAh levels?

Hi guys, real noob question here but I need to replace my 9.5v 600mAh battery, and I'm wondering if I can replace it with an 800mAh one?
If so, would it work or would it damage the car?
Are there any benefits to using certian mAh's over others?

Thanks for taking the time to answer!
Beercan is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:29 AM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
 
budachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
Default

As long as the voltage is the same then - Yes. Simply put , a higher mA rating just means more stamina , ie it has more current available so will last longer.
budachi is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 02:03 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (22)
 
Drift_Buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,662
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

That would be fine, as long as the volatage is still 9.5v (in otherwords, the same about of battery cells) than you will have no problem

Cheers
Drift_Buggy is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 12:44 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
 
ProudSavageOwnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leboland Sydney NSW
Posts: 2,826
Default

if its a radioshack car i would not realy bother..........but yes you can put a higher MAH battery......try getting the highest MAH avalable in that kind of battery and try be it NIMH not NICD
ProudSavageOwnr is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 02:26 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you for your advice guys. Much appreciated.
Beercan is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 01:43 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
steelhawke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Junction City, WI
Posts: 661
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

What exactly does mAh do and stand for on a pack? Just milli amp hours right? So just longer run times I'm thinking..
steelhawke is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 04:24 PM
  #7  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,073
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Exactly right, basically is the same as adding a bigger gas tank to a full scale car.....
Grizzbob is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.