Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
New to 1/8th Nitro, which .21 engine/pipe should i get??? >

New to 1/8th Nitro, which .21 engine/pipe should i get???

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New to 1/8th Nitro, which .21 engine/pipe should i get???

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2006, 11:30 PM
Tech Initiate

Default New to 1/8th Nitro, which .21 engine/pipe should i get???

Hi guys, ive got a losi 8ight coming for christmas, and i wanted to get some ideas on which engine/pipe combo for it. Im totally new to the nitro scene but i have some friends that have been racing it for awhile. Just kinda wanted to scrub what they have been recomending against some other opinions. Im basically looking for something durable that a newb like myself cant screw up, and when i get familiar with it something that will let me compete at the local track, theres quite a few fast guys there so id like to get something competitve so i dont have to buy twice. Thanks in advance
Old 11-28-2006, 01:49 AM
Tech Elite

thunder tiger pro21bx-r and hpi ribbed savage tuned pipe.....totally INSANE combo.....had it in my dragster and was running 2.8's ....had it in my savage which i still do and 12 gallons after its still popppin wheelies.....

if u want i can sell u the pipe....its a purple anodized one.....pm me if u want
Old 12-04-2006, 04:05 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

The TTR .21 isnt so bad but dont put a freekin savage ribbed pipe in an 1/8 scale buggy. For the 125-150.00$ range i would get an OS RG or Novarossi n21bf or an RBconcept econo 3port(identical to rossi engine).
If you want a great all around race motor pick a Novarossi P5 (rex,top or nova). At around 275.00 they are the best all around motor for the price.
If you want an indestructable pipe get a Jammin JP2 they are good all track pipe and they hold up great. If you want a more buget minded pipe that makes big powr get a ofna 086. They are cheap and work great but they crush easy.