Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Need help with weird gear noise - Traxxas Rustler VXL 2wd >

Need help with weird gear noise - Traxxas Rustler VXL 2wd

Need help with weird gear noise - Traxxas Rustler VXL 2wd

Old 06-05-2024, 10:25 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Need help with weird gear noise - Traxxas Rustler VXL 2wd

Hello, just want to preface and say I am new to any type of forum and new to RC for the most part.
I got a Traxxas Rustler VXL 2wd for Christmas when I was a little kid and recently dug it out of the closet and decided to buy a new battery and install the aftermarket transmission box my dad and I bought when we first got the truck. Everything went well and I had a lot of fun taking apart and putting back together the transmission but now an odd sound seems to be coming from the pinion and spur gear. I have adjusted the pinion to multiple different distances and tried but no matter how close or far away from the spur gear it makes that noise when both are spinning. I wasn't able to find anything that helped me online. The car sounded perfectly fine before I changed the transmission and now it sounds almost like the gears are grinding or slipping or something. I will post a YouTube link so people can get a better idea of the noise and what might be wrong with it.

https://youtu.be/gNsDuWRu_gU?si=STJ_IkmIqrJj3Y9k

Thanks for the help! Really want to get this thing back on the road!
Old 06-06-2024, 04:12 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 119 (100%+)

Watched the video, seems to be free and looks to run fine, could be just the metal housing transferring the sound differently ?? did you check bearings prior to installing in the new trans, and did they fit the new trans pockets well? ... was there room to use the teflon spacers where required at each bearing race?
Old 06-07-2024, 12:52 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Thanks for responding

Originally Posted by tomkatn