R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone

Old 04-10-2006, 09:09 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default A few newbie questions

I want to get started in R/C. i got a couple of free issues of radio control car action and found a lot of cool things in there. i have some knowledge of some things. but i do have a few questions first, i see that a lot of electric RTR come with like a 20 or 18 or 17 turn motor, how do these work with speed(is lower or higher good?) second, i see that there are some companies that have a brushless motor, what are these and how do they differ from a regualr motor in a RTR? thirdly, i have decided that i want to get some kind of a factory kit for a mini buggy or truck, what kind of hop-ups can u out on these, more specifically shocks? i guess the thing that i dont see in the 1/18 is the threaded shocks to adjust the springs. i was also wondering what would make a good starter 1/18 buggy or truck? i would like it to be a factory kit so i can make the decisions on what to put in it. and one more how fast(MPH) does, lets say a 4.5T motor go? thanks for the help and sorry for all the questions.

Pete
bigpete1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 09:43 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Send a message via MSN to Got Xray?
Default questions

1.What relation does turns have to do with speed?
A.The lower the turn the faster the motor will go,but it will also drain more battery,get hotter and wear out quicker(mainly the comm)

2.What is a brushless motor?
A.A brushless motor is basically the opposite of a brushed motor IE.A brushed motor has the magnets in the can and the windings on the armaure and a brushless motor has the magnets on the armature and the windings on the can,eliminating the high maintanence of a brushed motor(cutting the comm every 1-2 runs).

3.How many MPH would a 4.5t motor go?