Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Suggestions for an 1/8th scale buggy RTR or otherwise

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2006, 11:42 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Suggestions for an 1/8th scale buggy RTR or otherwise

I am fairly new to this hobby and own one car, a Losi stadium truck. However, I have decided to get another car and would like an 1/8 scale buggy. I don't have any experience with them other than what I have seen at the track. I am most likely going with an RTR, and this car will be used for racing, but I have a tendency to drive rough and break things. Since it will probably be an RTR, price really isn't a factor. Any and all suggestions are appreciated. Also, please provide some reasons for your suggestions, saying "buy such and such car" with no explanation is no help to me.

Thanks,
Cody
Old 04-09-2006, 08:31 AM
Tech Adept

you may want to look into an ofna or gs racing buggy. ofna has a few very durable buggies such as the Hyper 7 RTR (with .21 engine), Ultra LX Comp RTR, and 9.5 KP Violator RTR. the Ultra LX Comp and 9.5 KP Violator RTR's both have very powerful .26 engines. they both also have ofna's shaft start system for quick and easy starting. the GS Racing Storm buggy is a very fast buggy. probably not as durable as the ofna buggies. my freind has a gs racing Shadow St1 4wd and he's constantly breaking parts on it. now this isnt a 1/8 buggy, but parts durability is often similar on different models that a company makes.

oh yeah, another great buggy is the Kyosho Inferno MP777. this buggy isn't an RTR, but is a fairly serious race buggy. with proper tuning, this buggy can dominate at any track. the only doubt i have is the durability. i've heard quite a few people around these forums talk about how kyosho products are very low quality. i've never owned one, so im not sure.

watever you choose to get, have fun!!

here's some links to some different sites: