Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Which transmitter for a new guy? >

Which transmitter for a new guy?

Like Tree15Likes

Which transmitter for a new guy?

Old 03-25-2021, 11:24 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Which transmitter for a new guy?

Wanting to get into racing. Planning on getting a TA B6.3 two wheel drive for carpet racing. Dont know which transmitter and receiver to get. Any help would be appreciated!!
Old 03-25-2021, 12:00 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

What is your radio budget?
Old 03-25-2021, 12:42 PM
Tech Rookie

Id say id budget $200-$250. Is Spektrum reliable or would Futaba work? 3 channel or should it be more?
Old 03-25-2021, 01:43 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I've been using a Spektrum DX5C for several years and it is reliable and affordable.
It has all the features you need.
jmccoy62003 likes this.
Old 03-25-2021, 02:39 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Sanwa MTS - top of your budget, but more racers run Sanwa than any other brand. If you stay with racing, you can upgrade and keep your receivers.
LowClassCC and jmccoy62003 like this.
Old 03-25-2021, 04:35 PM
Tech Elite

If your on a budget, go with the Spektrum. Extra receivers are about a 1/3 the price of Sanwa and Futaba. a radio will not make you faster, so don't think you will be losing performance. More drivers use Sanwa for the name, when it comes to a $200 radio. Just like more street basketball players where Nike. Now, if your were getting up to the high dollars units, that's another story.

If you get a Spektrum, get the one with the DX319 receiver. Whatever you do, don't get the transmitter with the SR6100AT receiver with the AVS. You can't use it in racing and it is a pain in the arse to deal with. The DX319 is a 3 channel and has 4 ports to fit steering, throttle, motor fan, and transponder.
jmccoy62003 likes this.
Old 03-25-2021, 05:10 PM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by belewis01