Brand newb.  Servo question >

Brand newb. Servo question

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Funkydrummer1

Brand newb. Servo question

Old 09-08-2020, 07:07 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Brand newb. Servo question

Im new to the sport... well iv been renting and driving my local tracks cars for about a month. I wanted to build one. Slowly learning about parts, tips and tricks etc... but now im building an rc10 6.2. I am having some diffuculty determining what the differnces in the servos are. Are they reliant on the radio? Does anyone have any recommendations of a few that will work for the car? I am starting from scratch and the servo is first on yhe electronic list of items for me purchase unless someone suggest other wise

long story short. Please help with a servo crash course to steer me in the right direction. Get it?
Old 09-09-2020, 01:25 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

I'll give a very simple explanation. Basically 2 kinds of servos. Torque and speed. Some have both.
with 2wd, you want speed over Torque. For the obvious reason that the fronts are free and not under any load.
For wheeler you want Torque. (And speed).
you'll see ratings on servos. Like: 0.08 to lets say 0.14. Thats the time it takes to make a full lock back and forth.
​​ Torque is measured in oz/in. So 2wd is good at 130-150. Huge Torque monsters go to 500.
servos are not reliant on any particular radio. Do some research and see what local guys are using. Savox , Protek, mks, spektrum are the industry standard brands.
Bry195 likes this.
Old 09-10-2020, 06:33 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)

There's a lot of choices out there and lots of different technology. I'll try to break it down for you.

Analog and Digital. Both will work, analog is more old school and typically doesn't do as good of a job holding a position as digital. Also in most cases, digital is faster.

Then you have size. For the TC6.2 you can use a "standard" size or even a low profile, but it's not required.