Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Is it me or me?? >

Is it me or me??

Is it me or me??

Old 06-14-2020, 12:12 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 4
Default Is it me or me??

Hello all, new to RC planes, just acquired a foam kit that will sure to be one of many. Its a 96" Foam B2. It has 2 elevators and 2 ailerons. My setup is a Radiolink AT10 II and a R12DS. So the issue im having is syncing the elevators. They are behaving like ailerons with polar opposite bahavior when using the stick. I've tried going through the setup menu of the Transmitter for an option to sync them but feel im simply out of my depth. Both elevators and ailerons are using Y cables. The Ailerons which perfom fine are on CH1 and the Elevators are on 2. Any help or tutelage is greatly appreciated.
Gixermann is offline  
Old 06-14-2020, 02:47 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,411
Default

if you using a Y harness then they should be moving in same direction either both going up or both going down..a Y harness usually makes servo do in same direction on polar opposites..I know this is a foamy but is it used or new?. if used did some1 switch servos and the manual wont help with this...kinda has me puzzled also
the rc guy is offline  
Old 06-14-2020, 10:43 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: northern Indiana southern Michigan all depends on the day.
Posts: 254
Default

I my be reading the wrong. But servos on a Y harness operate the same assuming they're the same servos. And you didn't reprogram one of them. The the only other way a servo will actuate differently is if the servo was flipped or not orientated the same way..

I'd send pic and a video if you can
killer rock is offline  
Old 06-15-2020, 07:54 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,411
Default

if they are the same servo .. theres 1 thing you can do if servo rotation needs to be reversed is put a servo reversing circuit ...no way to change arc of the 1 servo going in opposite rotation.. so if 1 goes clockwise and the other goes counter clockwise then adding the servo reverse will make 2nd servo go same as 1st so both cw/cw not cw/ccw
https://www.banggood.com/Servo-Inver...r_warehouse=CN
the rc guy is offline  
Old 06-15-2020, 10:48 AM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 4
Default

Excellent feed back and suggestions. Thank you all for taking the time to both read and respond. It is a new Foamy. Killer Rock I though the same. I even went as far as connecting them individually to ensure correct installation and operation. Both units responded and in the correct direction.Only after the Y cable was introduce does the calamity ensue. Its as if one is producing interference for the other. I even cut the shrink rap to trace the wiring and confirm the pinout is consistent, black to black, white to white and so on, It is. I haven't programmed anything or atleast intentionally. I plane to reset my transmitter just to be sure. "The RC Guy" I like your reversing circuit option. Thanks for the link. If flipping one doesn't do the trick as killer rock suggested I think that circuit is the ticket. Flipping looks like it will require a little cutting to accommodate the now 180 servo.


Gixermann is offline  
Old 06-15-2020, 11:42 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 2,033
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Read the following thread and posts as it might solve your problem...

https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/hit...-reversal.html

There is a good link/picture in the thread that will show how to mount the servos without having to do any electronic reversing. Here is that link...
http://www.angelfire.com/indie/aeros...lServos-01.jpg

---------

edit: Gixermann, I'm glad we were able to help. You aren't the first person to get confused with poorly translated user manuals.

Last edited by IndyRC_Racer; 06-24-2020 at 11:31 AM.
IndyRC_Racer is offline  
Old 06-16-2020, 05:10 AM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you all for the feedback, greatly appreciated. I tried responding yesterday with a few pics but it seems it never made it to the discussion. Any who. It is a new foamy with two elevator flaps and two servos. I did cut the shrink wrap on the Y harness to ensure nothing is flipped or mis-match. All were consistent. I did consider the servo being flipped but the fit like a glove cut out either prevents it or causes it. I did consider making an additional cut out to flip it, problem solve. But though to myself, unlikely they(designers) didn't think that through. So I am sure it's something on my end so I put away the x-acto knife. I had plan on buying the reversing circuit until I read your post and link "IndyRC". I do recall seeing that feature in my TX that the link mentioned, but it read "Aile2 5 or 6" Or "Aile2 5&6". I didn't see one for the elevator. But now that I understand the concept and know what I am looking for I will go through each feature carefully this afternoon. I am extreme great-full to you all for taking the time to read my post let alone respond. Great community!!
Gixermann is offline  
Old 06-16-2020, 09:37 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,411
Default

.................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .....................

Last edited by the rc guy; 06-19-2020 at 02:29 PM.
the rc guy is offline  
Old 06-19-2020, 01:33 PM
  #9  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 4
Default

SOLVED:-) Gang I figured it out. The short version, never rely on a Mandarin to English manual. Oh, and be more patient. So I did exactly what I said in the last post and went through every feature and switch. Luckily there is a servo feedback menu where I could proof my progress after each change and adjustment. The more I learn the more I like this AT10 II. Turns out what I needed was in configuring the V-Tail, Aux Ch. and Elevon for the desired results I needed. Even found the servo delay option to stop the slapping of the landing gear. Thank you all.
Gixermann is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.