upgrade help and info.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Igottabeme
  • 1 Post By JCG1

upgrade help and info.

Old 12-21-2018, 12:09 PM
Tech Rookie

Questions?? upgrade help and info.

I got my son a red cat volcano truck, very basic, just in case he wasn't into it. Has the standard 2200 7.2v battery and stock motor. The battery only last like 7 minutes if that. Last year we went to a hobby shop to get a motor that was a little faster and they sold me a motor with brushes, and then I asked about a battery to make it last longer and they sold me a lipo battery.
well the engine caught fire. I talked to another person that deals with RC's and they said you shouldn't use a Lipo with that kind of motor.
So I guess my question is what exactly could I do to slightly upgrade the engine and battery to make it a little faster and last longer? I've been reading about ESC's and neither place mentioned that to me. I'm fairly new to this. I have an old school Traxxas T-Maxx 2.5 Nitro, seems everyone is going battery now.

Thank you.
Old 12-21-2018, 12:38 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)

You can always upgrade to brushless it will give you more speed. As far as runtime the higher the mah the longer the run time. A 8000mah 2s lipo will give you more run time than a 5000mah 2s lipo. But a 3s lipo will also give you more speed than a 2s lipo
Old 12-21-2018, 12:49 PM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by freaksofnature
You can always upgrade to brushless it will give you more speed. As far as runtime the higher the mah the longer the run time. A 8000mah 2s lipo will give you more run time than a 5000mah 2s lipo. But a 3s lipo will also give you more speed than a 2s lipo
Thank you. So is that a basic rule of thumb, use lipos with brushless motors? Just curious if that's why that other motor caught fire, or just bad luck. Also what is the ESC exactly used for?
Old 12-21-2018, 12:56 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)

Originally Posted by tc12678