Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Decent brushless esc and motor for slash? >

Decent brushless esc and motor for slash?

Decent brushless esc and motor for slash?

Old 07-15-2018, 12:21 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Decent brushless esc and motor for slash?

want to beef up my slash a little more. Currently running with velineon 3500. It ok but I wanna see what else is out there. 2s-6s capable would be nice. Sensored or sensor less? Brands and models? Mostly casual bashing/driving but I want real power.
Old 07-15-2018, 12:54 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Hobbywing max10 sct combo with 4000kv motor. Will give you plenty of power in 2s and be insane on 3s.
Old 07-15-2018, 01:17 PM
Tech Initiate

I was looking into hobbywing. Looks like there's sensored and sensorless models for max 10. I think I wanna try my hand at sensored but I have zero experience with them. Dose it make that much difference?
Old 07-16-2018, 01:58 PM
Tech Initiate

I see. It's not sensored just need a card to program esc.
Old 07-16-2018, 04:43 PM
Tech Addict

Your 3500 Velineon can handle 3s and that's a good way to bump up your power. Keep in mind that with more power your drive line will start to become the weak link. Traxxas axles work pretty good on 2s but start to break on 3s, from my experience. Running in loose dirt helps as well as keeping off the throttle as you land a jump.
You can also change the pinion gear to get more speed but you'll need to keep an eye on the motor and esc temps. An infrared temperature gauge is a must have in rc.
Old 07-17-2018, 06:02 AM
Tech Initiate

I've been running 3s with velineon for a while. I also have and use ir temp gun. Ive looked into the max 10 4000kv, I'm actually looking into the mamba x 3800kv now. Never had a sensored setup but I'm very intrigued. Just hope my wife dosnt kill me for spending another $200. And if she dosnt she might kill me if my car is faster than hers lol.
Old 07-25-2018, 12:59 AM
Tech Rookie