Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
which buggy, stadium truck or monster truck to buy > which buggy, stadium truck or monster truck to buy

which buggy, stadium truck or monster truck to buy

Old 02-12-2006, 07:38 PM
Tech Rookie

Default which buggy, stadium truck or monster truck to buy

im new to the whole rc thing and just had some questions. i have decided that to start out with i am going to go with a electric RTR kit. what i have not decided on is which company to purchase my vehicle from. what are some suggestions. ive been stuck between duratrax and traxxas. also could someone please explain the amount of turns that a motor has. i see lots of adds for a 16, 8, 20, etc, etc turn motor. thanks for the help.

Peter
Old 02-12-2006, 08:27 PM
Tech Adept

Motors go like this:

Lower turns = more speed

Higher turns = less speed, more torque

I recently (wednesday) got a traxxas stampede. It's awesome, built well etc. and for relatively cheap. I don't know exactly what your looking for, but this is a cool 2wd truck.
I don't know much about duratrax, so I can't help you there. I also don't know if your looking for raceability.

Anyways, hope this helps.
Old 02-12-2006, 11:34 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

First off how much money do you want to spend? I could always recommend a RC/10 B4 high end but that seems a bit much for you. However I think there is an associated B4 that's an RTR. Also Losi has some good offerings for RTR as well. Both make killer buggies and parts are plentiful.

I'm not familiar with Duratrax, Traxxas however is a name from back in the day. They make nice entry level stuff, if you plan on beating around the back yard or in the street with friends I'd give a traxxas a thought. If you plan on competing now or in the future I'd spend the extra money on a higher end car. The RTRs will get you a decent setup and after that you can modify the crap out of your ride.