Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > RC Flight
New to quadcopters... Need some advice >

New to quadcopters... Need some advice

New to quadcopters... Need some advice

Old 04-01-2014, 06:09 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Arrow New to quadcopters... Need some advice

Hey Guys, I've been racing 1/8th and 1/10th off road for about 5 years. Recently I have become interested in trying out a quadcopter. I've looked at a few online but I am confused on some of the terminology. I am interested in trying some of the photography with one. I have a GoPro Hero 2 that I could mount to one. A local racer suggested that I pick up a DJI Phantom FC40. Which I saw comes with a camera but only shoots 720p. I'd like to stay around $500, so that the wife doesn't kill me

Thanks for any advice!

What would you guys recommend that I buy?
Old 04-02-2014, 02:27 AM
Tech Rookie

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I've got a Parrot AR.Drone 2, which it a ton of fun for the money. The built in camera is pretty decent, and it's easy to fly. The iPhone/Android control is neat, but not that great. I'll be upgrading eventually to either the DJI Phantom 2 or a 3D Robotics IRIS

The Phantom 2 is nifty because they've got a gimbal system coming, which will be very cool for the GoPro setup
The IRIS is in a similar arena as the Phantom, but lets you do autonomous flight out of the box.

I'm having trouble deciding myself... But I think the best advice would be to start with a cheaper "beater" quad to learn on. I've beat on my AR.Drone way more than I'd like to have just learning how to fly it! Check out the Traxxas (LaTrax) Alias

Have fun!

PS - I would've posted links, but I'm new here...
Old 04-02-2014, 04:53 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)