Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > RC Flight
returning to the runway to land?  *sim* >

returning to the runway to land? *sim*

returning to the runway to land? *sim*

Old 12-15-2011, 05:26 PM
Tech Addict

Questions?? returning to the runway to land? *sim*

got my Christmas early today ordered Real Flight Basic.

I have crashed alot and now can fly around in the air "mostly" I am having trouble getting lined back up on the runway to land on it. I have been able to touch down in the grass and dirt but still cannot hit the runway 'upright' for a landing.

I am just getting started so looking for some gentle advice on lining up to land, the turns seem to be my problem. I try gentle sweeping turn but end up way off and hard turns usually ends in a corkscrew crash.

I'll keep working at it but thought I would ask. BTW I am sooo very glad I did not just go pick up a plane, they are alot harder to fly than I thought

Thanks in advance.
Old 12-16-2011, 01:25 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

hope i can explain what i do correctly.

landing left to right
i pattern around right to left a ways off the run way parallel to the runway
after a bit farther down from the end of the runway i start a bank left turn and start to slow down the power while keeping a little bank for a slow turn. when i see my plane get near a vertical spot that matches the inside square point (closest edge to you and farthest down of the runway where it makes the point of the 90 degree angle) runway (thats what i hope i explain correctly) i finish the turn line up and bring it in.

when i was first taught i did a 90 bank then a 90 bank at the imaginary vertical point then came in but then as i got better i starting doing a full bank closer in to the edge of runway when i got use to gauging the point