Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New or used helicopter

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2011, 11:14 AM
Tech Rookie

Default New or used helicopter

is it worth to spend half of the price to get a used helicopter instead of a new one? I am just a beginner. you comment would be great!
Old 08-26-2011, 12:48 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Originally Posted by flowerfishs
is it worth to spend half of the price to get a used helicopter instead of a new one? I am just a beginner. you comment would be great!
I'm a beginner, too, and I just bought a used helicopter. I think that it's fine, just be careful who you buy from and what kind of condition that it is in -- you don't want to end up with something that needs more fixing than you want!!

Dan
Old 08-26-2011, 05:33 PM
Tech Rookie

I think it's very rare to get a used helicopter that works normally. I bought a used align trex 450 se v2. I found that the main shaft and tail rotor shaft are bent and also the main gear does not spin smooth. I though that is not worth to buy a used helicopter.
Old 08-26-2011, 06:20 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)

Originally Posted by flowerfishs
I think it's very rare to get a used helicopter that works normally. I bought a used align trex 450 se v2. I found that the main shaft and tail rotor shaft are bent and also the main gear does not spin smooth. I though that is not worth to buy a used helicopter.
That's all simple stuff, but you should just ask the seller for a partial refund for the parts if he stated the helicopter to be in running condition. A used helicopter is alright. Just rip the helicopter apart, get a manual, and then build it from there so you KNOW the helicopter's built right.
Old 08-26-2011, 06:28 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Ill buy a used heli anytime. It's not a bad deal to buy used if you know what you are looking at and what to expect. If you don't then ask someone that does. You can buy new and still have problems with a kit.