Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > RC Flight
DX 5 Transmitter >

DX 5 Transmitter

DX 5 Transmitter

Old 11-25-2009, 10:49 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
mamba4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: TeXaS
Posts: 1,927
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default DX 5 Transmitter

Has anyone used this i am looking to get a new Transmitter to fly my MSR Wondering if this will work?? I hear these will give me Way more performance and well' actually i hear no reason not to upgrade my transmitter..
But i have one other question about this,. I Plan to move up in the heli hobby will this transmitter work on a 3D capable Heli ?

"I do not plan to Spend Thousands on this new hobby like i have in the past on my Rock crawler racer and other R/C Cars"
So the price and brand name of this one REALLY Catch my eye !



Hear is a link http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...rodID=SPMR5500
mamba4life is offline  
Old 11-25-2009, 06:43 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
 
helibrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 801
Default

Will it work with the MSR? Sure! And most of the other micro bind-n-fly stuff out there.
More performance? Nope.
3d capable heli? Nope. Even if you had a gyro with manually adjustable rate, the DX5e has no adjustable throttle or pitch curves, no idle up mode and channel 5 is 2 position switched only. Sorry, it just wouldn't work on a CP heli.

On the other hand, if you got into, say a dx6i (about 150~179 bucks), you could use it with the MSR (and the other bind-n-fly micro stuff), it would allow more adjust-ability, and you could use it with a cp heli.
On the third hand, if you got into a Dx7 (250~300 bucks w/receiver) You could do all of the above and then some. You would have what's considered by many to be, "entry level", for a 3d capable heli and have a bit of room to grow.
If you plan on getting serious about the 3d heli thing, you can easily spend over a thousand bucks just setting up one 450 sized heli + gyro, servos, lipos and radio equipment. But then there's always the blade 400.
helibrian is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 12:11 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
mamba4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: TeXaS
Posts: 1,927
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

Cool dude well thanks i guess ill be getting a dx6i. thanks for the input!
mamba4life is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.