Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > RC Boating
Back at it again! Bye bye zenoah power. hello lipo >

Back at it again! Bye bye zenoah power. hello lipo

Back at it again! Bye bye zenoah power. hello lipo

Reply

Old 11-24-2014, 09:53 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
aliencehobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Coral,Mi
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Back at it again! Bye bye zenoah power. hello lipo

So about a year ago I bought the catamaran hull from my cousin. I bought it dirt cheap.(Taco bell and mtn dew cheap) so I doesn't own me anything so I held on to it. Finally I've decided to do something with it.

This is what it looked like when I first got it

This is what it looks like today.

Its a Hydra Sport hull. I was originally powered by a gas weed Wacker engine. But I've decided to convert it to electric due to the fact that I have extra electronics just lying around.

The first bit of work that needed to be done was to remove the old mangled drive shaft.

These are the pictures of after I cut the shaft housing out with my Dremel tool.


Photos of test fitting the new 5mm driveshaft.

Test fitting motor plate soon. I opted to go with a 550 size motor which I have a velineon system that I'll be putting in this. I'm not sure where the motor should be. Worried about to much wait in the rear.
This is the plate I got

Also purchased the rudder system, driveshaft, and motor mount from EBay. I'll try to find links and prices asap.

Sorry for the photos and the quality.
Just moved and haven't set up my RC bench yet. All photos were taken with my Droid Maxx.
aliencehobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 08:51 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
aliencehobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Coral,Mi
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

any body know where i could get a top for this boat? having a hard time finding one
aliencehobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 09:07 AM
  #3  
Moderator
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,075
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

How long is this hull, are you talk a brushless system from a slash?
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 09:23 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
aliencehobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Coral,Mi
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by roadrashracing View Post
How long is this hull, are you talk a brushless system from a slash?
33 1/4"
yes the motor is from a vxl slash 4x4.
i have a 550 sized cooling jacket and plan on buying a marine esc
aliencehobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 09:26 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
aliencehobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Coral,Mi
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

wait i believe i meant 540.. not 550
aliencehobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 09:36 AM
  #6  
Moderator
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,075
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

I personally would not waste the time or money on that motor, its way to small for that hull.

You need something like this:
http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pro...mbo-v3&cat=172
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 10:10 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
aliencehobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Coral,Mi
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by roadrashracing View Post
I personally would not waste the time or money on that motor, its way to small for that hull.

You need something like this:
http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pro...mbo-v3&cat=172
really? i was told (on a different forum) that a 1/8th size system would be way to big!?!?!?!?
aliencehobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 09:32 PM
  #8  
Moderator
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,075
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

It the upgrade for the spartan, thats around the same size, yours might weigh more. The traxxas system might be ok in something like their blast.
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 07:00 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 512
Default

That hull never had a gas engine in it as that's a nitro engine motor mount.
The brass tube has to be much longer as it has to go all the way to the strut.
It's going to need a much bigger motor. Go into the OSE forum site and ask them what it'll need.
The dual rudder setup is overkill.
Ron Olson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 12:31 PM
  #10  
Moderator
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,075
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Anything new with this?
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service