Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > RC Boating
Repairable? Or new Hull Time? >

Repairable? Or new Hull Time?

Repairable? Or new Hull Time?

Old 03-16-2014, 04:19 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Repairable? Or new Hull Time?

I am a noob boater first off. Today I was running and lost transmission or for some reason the boat locked on about 75% throttle straight into the rocks. I'm guessing at 30-40 mph.

Is this repairable damage? How would you suggest painting if it is repairable?
Attached Thumbnails Repairable? Or new Hull Time?-image.jpg  
Old 03-16-2014, 06:25 AM

Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)

It could be repaired but you would have to get to it from the inside, might be easier just to get a new hull.
Old 03-16-2014, 08:05 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

I can't tell, is that fiberglass? If so, go to the auto parts store and get a fiberglass repair kits. It comes with resin, glass mat, and a few squeegees. Sand the damage down and overlay the fiberglass mat onto it. Try to keep it as thin as possible. Then soak with the activated resin. Let sit until cured and sand smooth and repaint. Kit used to be about $15 or $20.

In high school I worked in a boat shop lol. We also made those dune buggy bodies that were so popular back in the day.
Old 03-17-2014, 08:59 AM

Is the other side damaged too?
Old 03-17-2014, 09:01 AM

You could get something like this and just drop your electroincs in.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/AquaCraft-RE...item5af950cdfc
Old 03-17-2014, 02:30 PM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

it's fiberglass it's definitely repairable. the repair might make it heavier in that area though.

painting it will be a matter of sanding the fiberglass once its hardened. applying body filler to get the perfect finish and then sanding that, then once that is perfect apply primer, sand that a bit with 400 grit or a grey scuff pad sold at auto paint supply stores and apply paint.