Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > RC Boating
Proboat Thunder cat 31 >

Proboat Thunder cat 31

Proboat Thunder cat 31

Reply

Old 11-03-2013, 04:13 PM
  #1  
Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,076
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default Proboat Thunder cat 31

I picked one up the other day, and am just wondering what the stock motor is capable of, I've got a few props to mess with.
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 04:20 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

Looks fast just sitting there.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 05:00 PM
  #3  
Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,076
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Flames make anything look fast.
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 05:55 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 512
Default

OK, I've had the chance to play with a couple of them but never owned one.
You're kind of limited as the engine is considered a Sport engine.
Here's what we did:
Swapped the prop out for an Octura M-445 but a Zippkits 444 would work also, gained a lot of speed there.
Port match the header as in stock form it really blocks exhaust flow.
We ran it with 65% nitro but we're sort of nuts anyway.
Placed a 10oz. fuel tank in the rear right side of the sponson to move the CG back. You can keep the stock one in place if you want to.
The carb also limits its potential as the bore is too small choking it there too.
Ron Olson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 06:06 PM
  #5  
Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,076
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

I don't expect a lot out of it, just something else to play with.
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 06:22 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 512
Default

Yeah, right! We all like to squeeze a few extra MPH out of the boats.
Most of these changes are no to low-cost mods.
One more thing that's kind of important. Make the rudder so that it's break-away, a nylon nut and bolt in place of the lower one will help a lot. Crack the top bolt loose just a hair, just enough so that it can swing away. It's getting harder to find replacement rudders as a lot of people broke them. The problem was also on the Shockwave 36.
Ron Olson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 06:22 PM
  #7  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

True very true.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 06:48 PM
  #8  
Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,076
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

I'm trying to find just a gas cap, I don't want to have to buy a whole new tank.
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 06:57 PM
  #9  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

Don't they sell just a cap ?
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 07:05 PM
  #10  
Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,076
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Not that I could find just, the whole tank. I got new fuel lines and water lines ran, I might be running it this year yet.
Attached Thumbnails Proboat Thunder cat 31-100_4003.jpg  
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 07:07 PM
  #11  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

Sweet. Get vids. Please.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 06:09 AM
  #12  
Tech Addict
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 512
Default

Gas caps? Sometimes that's easy. Check around the house to see if you've got a bottle cap that'll fit on it. The AquaCraft nitro boats used an ordinary pop bottle cap if you lost one.
If you can't find one go to Plan B and use a Sullivan tank in it.
Ron Olson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 06:29 AM
  #13  
Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,076
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the tip, soda cap works perfect.
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 08:18 AM
  #14  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

Get that sucker fired up and let's see some vids. I'm gonna be relying on YouTube for my boat fix pretty soon.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 10:18 AM
  #15  
Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,076
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Don't have fuel or a starter.
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service