Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > RC Boating
Brushless motor for boat >

Brushless motor for boat

Brushless motor for boat

Reply

Old 09-16-2013, 06:36 PM
  #1  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default Brushless motor for boat

Is everyone running 4 or 6 pole ? I just got a tacon 1800kv 2pole 3660 and I'm wondering if it'll work ok in a 26 in Rio .
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 07:50 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (59)
 
Slo_E4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,148
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

I'm sure it would work fine without over propping. More poles will obviously run cooler but it should be fine. You could run 5s, but I'd stick with 4s since its such a small motor. Pair it with a sk120 and it would be a sweet setup I'm sure.
Slo_E4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 08:14 PM
  #3  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

Thank you for the input. Was gonna try the proboat 60a esc I have with 4s . I really need to invest in a better esc.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 08:46 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
Cinnabun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,331
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

3660 is kinda small. Not gonna have much torque to spin a prop.. The aq motors are 6 pole why not run one of them rod? My leopards are 4 poles but also alot more can. 3674 and 4082. I like high kv low voltage personally.
Cinnabun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 08:52 PM
  #5  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

I know I have a aq motor on the way just trying to find a use for this 3660. I guess I could put it in my stampede and run 4s. Lol. Just trying to build the Rio on the cheap with a brushless setup.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:01 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
Cinnabun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,331
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I know you have one on the way, I know the guy you got it from lol. Seriously the aq motor and 60a esc would probably be a nice combo in the rio.
Cinnabun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 07:42 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 101
Default

I have a Tacon 3660 2200kv running on 4s in my SuperVee 27. Quite a boost in performance. Found a X637 prop is working the best for me so far. Running a stable wet hull at 46mph (gps) with motor temps around 100f after a 5min run. Using the 60a AquaCraft ESC out of my UL1. Great motor, many runs so far.
Fast1Guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 09:22 PM
  #8  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

I thin I'll try it in the Rio on 4s with the stilleto 60a esc and stock prop first. What's the worst than can happen ? I'll just take the rescue boat (villain) with me.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 10:55 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (59)
 
Slo_E4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,148
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Hull came brushed, nicd battery, with a 1/8 shaft. Going brushless, you don't need much torque. Cool thing is, is that your (Ill assume) 50mm long jacket should smother that short motor so cooling should be good.
Slo_E4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 05:09 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
31Bowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Decorah IA.
Posts: 124
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default boat motors

This might help. http://www.radiocontrolinfo.com/RCca...Calculator.php
31Bowtie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 05:53 PM
  #11  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

Thank you I'll check it out.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service