Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Tekin RS pro black edition thread >

Tekin RS pro black edition thread

Like Tree35Likes

Tekin RS pro black edition thread

Reply

Old 11-29-2017, 11:37 AM
  #46  
Tech Master
iTrader: (63)
 
BRSracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Blue Springs MO
Posts: 1,828
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by eazy70 View Post
I have been waiting a long time for the 1s rs pro BE, like some of you guys.
I tried many times to call tekin, and no answer, you can't even leave a message.
Doesn't look good.
You ever get in touch with anyone at Tekin? Product is out of stock almost everywhere I look. Tried to call as well just a message.
BRSracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 01:06 PM
  #47  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (46)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern Idaho
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BRSracing View Post
You ever get in touch with anyone at Tekin? Product is out of stock almost everywhere I look. Tried to call as well just a message.
I was told hopefully mid-december.
mrniss99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 01:25 PM
  #48  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
Tron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Tekin is moving their office around I was told...got hold of them on their website chat.
Tron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 02:49 PM
  #49  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 187
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BRSracing View Post
You ever get in touch with anyone at Tekin? Product is out of stock almost everywhere I look. Tried to call as well just a message.
I did finally talked to Ray, at Tekin and they never released the 1s version yet. Shooting for min December.
eazy70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 12:25 PM
  #50  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Ok I am confused....................the motor limit says 36mm can 2 pole motor that's all it says for 2s brushless..............a Maclan 7.5 turn motor is a 2 pole 36mm can but from what others have said on here I would not want the RS Pro BE for this motor?????????
Ssilverfz1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 01:12 PM
  #51  
Tech Master
iTrader: (63)
 
BRSracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Blue Springs MO
Posts: 1,828
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

for a 7.5 if you want tekin get the rsx if you can find one in stock
BRSracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 01:58 PM
  #52  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
fievel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rochester Mi
Posts: 883
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Capacitor

I have been experiencing higher than normal esc temps in my stock B6. I am wondering if my cap is dead. Could I have damaged the cap while soldering on the battery wire leads?

Keep hearing that other guys RS Pros BEs are like 120-140 with a motor fan.

Setup
B6
RS Pro BE (Blinky)
Spec R 17.5 (72/26 48* Timing)
WTF motor fan plugged into Sanwa
Receiver
Motor Temp: 100
ESC Temp: 170 (140 without motor fan)

Thanks!
fievel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 05:12 AM
  #53  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Volition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 401
Default

Hopefully Randy sees this! He asked what type of videos we would like to see on FB. I recommend “how to tell when your Cap is not working like it should “

That would be great as I am often wondering if it’s working as it should. And when it’s starting to deteriorate or a bad connection how will I know
freebird and Goof like this.
Volition is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 06:49 PM
  #54  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (5)
 
TweakedTad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I would like to see a video on that as well.
TweakedTad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 06:21 PM
  #55  
bl4
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
bl4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 509
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Need some help! I accidentally plug in the wrong battery connector and spark and burning smell out from my esc. Is there anyway to save it or I have to get a new one? Thanks
bl4 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 06:55 PM
  #56  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,255
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bl4 View Post
Need some help! I accidentally plug in the wrong battery connector and spark and burning smell out from my esc. Is there anyway to save it or I have to get a new one? Thanks
It's done
STLNLST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 10:16 PM
  #57  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fievel View Post
I have been experiencing higher than normal esc temps in my stock B6. I am wondering if my cap is dead. Could I have damaged the cap while soldering on the battery wire leads?

Keep hearing that other guys RS Pros BEs are like 120-140 with a motor fan.

Setup
B6
RS Pro BE (Blinky)
Spec R 17.5 (72/26 48* Timing)
WTF motor fan plugged into Sanwa
Receiver
Motor Temp: 100
ESC Temp: 170 (140 without motor fan)

Thanks!
That's not a horrible temp to be honest. I don't care where the ESC temp is as long as it's under 5 led's when I'm done with my run. Temping the outside of the ESC isn't helpful, as the LED's show you true temp of the esc, so be sure to use it.

If the cap is bad however, you would see higher ESC temps.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 10:16 PM
  #58  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bl4 View Post
Need some help! I accidentally plug in the wrong battery connector and spark and burning smell out from my esc. Is there anyway to save it or I have to get a new one? Thanks
Time to send it in and get a non warranty replacement at a discount. We've all done it, sorry.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 10:18 PM
  #59  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Volition View Post
Hopefully Randy sees this! He asked what type of videos we would like to see on FB. I recommend “how to tell when your Cap is not working like it should “

That would be great as I am often wondering if it’s working as it should. And when it’s starting to deteriorate or a bad connection how will I know
This is harder to do than one would think. The biggest and easiest way to tell is when you first plug in your battery, you should hear and sometimes see an arc and "snap" sound.

Touch your ESC's battery leads together(WITHOUT THE BATTERY CONNECTED!) and you can discharge the cap, for 90 seconds. Then reconnect the battery, you should hear the snap.
iTz Nicholas72 and Volition like this.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2018, 04:37 AM
  #60  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 45
Default Rs Pro Hotwire 2.0

Hi all , having issues atm with my rs Pro black and my Hotwire 2.0 255 connecting using normal mode that allows me to apply and save settings. Each time I hook it up it will only run demo mode. Thanks for any help and info
SlipDiff is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service