Like Tree23Likes

Team Orion HMX10 esc

Reply

Old 02-16-2018, 02:32 PM
  #151  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
thisguy2849's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 843
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone ran this in 17.5 touring car?
thisguy2849 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 08:53 AM
  #152  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Peakki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Peakki View Post
2 questions:
1. can voltage cutoff be set to off? if not, what is minimium?
2. does esc operate with 1s battery? planning to race with external booster
0 answers, had to find out myself

1. none, 2.8v min
2. seems that no
Peakki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 04:01 AM
  #153  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 13
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So i also jumped into the HMX 10 modified. Installed it in my yokomo yz4sf using 5.5 orion motor mayfield 2017 ifmar clone. First time i used my phone to plug into the ESC to calibrate a puff of smoke and i could smell burning. Could not unplug it fast enough. A day later before sending it back to Horizon hobbies i tried again with my laptop using usb to micro cord still couldnt connect. Found my old blackberry usb to micro usb cable and was connected on COM3 after installing the FTDI drivers. I had to have radio on battery on car plugged in and then connected usb cable ESC lit up then power on my buggy and could connect and configure updated firmware 1.4 and using mayfield settings. Going to track today to hopefully race and test new car and tune. Will bring my notebook.

Hope this helps you guys. BTW i tried with a note8 using usb type C to mini usb first(smoke followed).
jetskik2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 05:43 PM
  #154  
Eli
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Eli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego, CA.
Posts: 1,507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Just posted 2 of these used for sale. These are great speed controls and have had zero issues with just decided to run muchmore electronics this year and forward. My lose is your gain.
Eli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 05:48 PM
  #155  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: OH
Posts: 206
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I saw a HMX app in the itunes app store. HMX Technology by Neidhart SA. It definitely is for ESC but i can not tell if it is Team Orion or someone else. Has anyone tried this app yet or care to shed some light on what the deal is?
ironpeddler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 05:56 PM
  #156  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (136)
 
timannnn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,208
Trader Rating: 136 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ironpeddler View Post
I saw a HMX app in the itunes app store. HMX Technology by Neidhart SA. It definitely is for ESC but i can not tell if it is Team Orion or someone else. Has anyone tried this app yet or care to shed some light on what the deal is?
HMX iOS App now in App Store -NeoBuggy.net ? Offroad RC Car News
timannnn6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 05:55 PM
  #157  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
shadaloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: fla
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Wow, after reading some of the comments here I think I've decided to go with Tekin again for my 13.5 wheeler instead of giving Orion a shot. I was going to get a Orion servo, esc, and motor but lack of customer service and not being able to find out any info about updates or anything kinda worries me. Their nitro engine seems amazing, best price for the quality that I have seen by far... but for electric the esc is insanely pricey. The servo/motor prices are fine, but the esc price I just don't get.
shadaloo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 09:09 PM
  #158  
Tech Regular
 
rcbuggy88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: California
Posts: 493
Default

yes, very pricey but I'm not sure about customer service but they do make good stuff, just expensive.
rcbuggy88 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 10:20 PM
  #159  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
shadaloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: fla
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

would you pay the extra for the esc though? I am trying to compare the hmx10 to tekin rs pro, or tekin rs spec....
shadaloo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 11:54 AM
  #160  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Ok. I have had this hmx10 esc now in my sct22 3.0, it worked great, easy to use with app and had no issues at all.

But now, I cant change motortype from 2-pole to 4-pole in app. My question is is that change only possible with computer ?

I have now this esc in my scte 3.0 and need to get it working with 4-pole motor.
Kipsi1980 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 04:30 PM
  #161  
Tech Regular
 
rcbuggy88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: California
Posts: 493
Default

Originally Posted by shadaloo View Post
would you pay the extra for the esc though? I am trying to compare the hmx10 to tekin rs pro, or tekin rs spec....
Although it may be a nice esc, it is definitly not worth the money. I would only buy it if you either have lots of extra money, or are an Orion fan.
rcbuggy88 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 09:18 PM
  #162  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
shadaloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: fla
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcbuggy88 View Post
Although it may be a nice esc, it is definitly not worth the money. I would only buy it if you either have lots of extra money, or are an Orion fan.
lol, well i'm neither yet... i am trying to get into 1/10 4wd 13.5 class and was looking to try orion. but the price of the esc is insane. i could get a tekin rs pro for less... i do love orion's nitro engines however, and would of liked to stay with 1 brand.
shadaloo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 11:26 AM
  #163  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Ok. If You guys are going to try 4-pole with hmx10 esc, dont do it.

​​​​​​It will breake down in seconds. Tried it and now esc is finished. Hmx10 is not supporting 4-pole engines atm.

Was going to drive it in scte 3.0.
Aevery757 likes this.
Kipsi1980 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 06:36 PM
  #164  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,469
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kipsi1980 View Post
Ok. I have had this hmx10 esc now in my sct22 3.0, it worked great, easy to use with app and had no issues at all.

But now, I cant change motortype from 2-pole to 4-pole in app. My question is is that change only possible with computer ?

I have now this esc in my scte 3.0 and need to get it working with 4-pole motor.
The HMX ESC does not have option 2-pole or 4 pole not like the orion vortex r10/r10.1
raved007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 06:57 PM
  #165  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by Kipsi1980 View Post
Ok. If You guys are going to try 4-pole with hmx10 esc, dont do it.

​​​​​​It will breake down in seconds. Tried it and now esc is finished. Hmx10 is not supporting 4-pole engines atm.

Was going to drive it in scte 3.0.
man so glad I read this I was thinking of throwing one in my scte good info
Aevery757 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service