Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
'Orion R10.1 pro with 4 pole motor' Query >

'Orion R10.1 pro with 4 pole motor' Query

'Orion R10.1 pro with 4 pole motor' Query

Reply

Old 01-03-2017, 09:49 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Default 'Orion R10.1 pro with 4 pole motor' Query

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting in any RC forum.
I have managed to get my hands on a new Orion R10.1 Pro.
My plan is to use this ESC with a 4 pole motor, however based on research that I have done by viewing various threads, it turns out that this ESC has to be updated in order to accomodate 4 pole motors.

If this is true, I was wondering if anyone could suggest to me as to which update is required to successfully run this esc with a 4 pole motor ( which is a MAMBA MAX 5700kv motor).

I was also wondering if anyone could upload or send me these update files for the ESC( I am having real difficulty with Team orion's website) .

Your help and suggestions will be much appreciated.
TechDude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 09:34 AM
  #2  
Moderator
iTrader: (21)
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,160
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

The older R10 had some issues sometimes with some 4-pole motors; the 10.1 should be good to go with a 540-sized 4-pole out of the box although if your motor is sensorless, you will lose much of the smoothness/reason to have an Orion R10.1 anyway.
MarkA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 07:18 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,390
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TechDude View Post
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting in any RC forum.
I have managed to get my hands on a new Orion R10.1 Pro.
My plan is to use this ESC with a 4 pole motor, however based on research that I have done by viewing various threads, it turns out that this ESC has to be updated in order to accomodate 4 pole motors.

If this is true, I was wondering if anyone could suggest to me as to which update is required to successfully run this esc with a 4 pole motor ( which is a MAMBA MAX 5700kv motor).

I was also wondering if anyone could upload or send me these update files for the ESC( I am having real difficulty with Team orion's website) .

Your help and suggestions will be much appreciated.
If you want to run 4pole motor you need to update your firmware to 4 pole. Download software to team orion website. I've been running my SCTE 3.0 with Discontinued 4700KV motor LRP it's a beast i like orion r10.1 and brake super smooth and small compare to Tekin RX8
raved007 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service