Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Help with motor analyzer - SkyRC Motor Analyzer >

Help with motor analyzer - SkyRC Motor Analyzer

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By nexxus

Help with motor analyzer - SkyRC Motor Analyzer

Old 12-14-2016, 04:33 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (109)
 
rctazmanmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,241
Trader Rating: 109 (99%+)
Default Help with motor analyzer - SkyRC Motor Analyzer

Hey guys.

Just picked up a SkyRC BMA-01 Brushless Motor Analyzer and need a little guidance on what to look for and check.

Need tips / set-up for on-road 17.5 motors and off-road 17.5 and 13.5 motors - timing, amp draw, shimming etc.

I got lots of experience with brushed and limited with brushless tuning.

Seen videos on YouTube and what they provide but like some experienced racers feedback.

Thanks
rctazmanmc is offline  
Old 12-14-2016, 05:14 AM
  #2  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (315)
 
nexxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,871
Trader Rating: 315 (100%+)
Default

Watch Nick Adams on youtube lots of good info on setting these motors up using the analyzer.
1/8 IC Fan likes this.
nexxus is offline  
Old 12-14-2016, 06:06 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (109)
 
rctazmanmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,241
Trader Rating: 109 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nexxus View Post
Watch Nick Adams on youtube lots of good info on setting these motors up using the analyzer.
Thanks!

I will check out soon. Rather not burn up a perfectly good motor but I also want to tune to be competitive and have power.
rctazmanmc is offline  
Old 12-20-2016, 05:02 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
nova2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 425
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I've been playing with one of these, and found my Tekin Gen 3 21.5 to have a bit of a variance between phases. When tested at an indicated 30 degrees, Phase A=23deg, B=29 and C=31. Is there a means to get the motor back in sync?
nova2015 is offline  
Old 12-23-2016, 07:33 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
d16dcoe45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Armonk, NY
Posts: 951
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nova2015 View Post
I've been playing with one of these, and found my Tekin Gen 3 21.5 to have a bit of a variance between phases. When tested at an indicated 30 degrees, Phase A=23deg, B=29 and C=31. Is there a means to get the motor back in sync?
yes, u physically unsolder the sensors on the sensor board and move them little by little to the correct positions--and of course permanently solder them back. Its a trial and error process but should give you a faster, more consistent motor.

Some of my 5% Trinity motors (D4 1s and 24k) were the WORST offenders, being from 7 to 10 degrees out from a-b-c!
d16dcoe45 is offline  
Old 12-27-2016, 02:50 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (109)
 
rctazmanmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,241
Trader Rating: 109 (99%+)
Default

What amps you guys setting the motor at for off-road stock buggy and truck?

I seen 6.5 amp draw but want to make sure.
rctazmanmc is offline  
Old 02-26-2017, 12:45 AM
  #7  
JAE
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,974
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

...delete
Originally Posted by rctazmanmc View Post
What amps you guys setting the motor at for off-road stock buggy and truck?

I seen 6.5 amp draw but want to make sure.

Last edited by JAE; 02-26-2017 at 01:50 AM.
JAE is offline  
Old 06-17-2019, 05:02 PM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 79
Default Can you use the analyser while motor is attached to ESC

Hi,

do you have to detach the motor from the ESC before you can use the motor analyser? If you can , it saves a lot of time in testing a motor that is currently installed in a car.

Bernard
rbc626 is offline  
Old 06-17-2019, 05:11 PM
  #9  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (235)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 32,273
Trader Rating: 235 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rbc626 View Post
Hi,

do you have to detach the motor from the ESC before you can use the motor analyser? If you can , it saves a lot of time in testing a motor that is currently installed in a car.

Bernard
you can if the esc is not turned on just remove the pinion , but i would still disconnect it from the esc
Marcos.J is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.