Like Tree3Likes

KO PROPO EX-RR

Reply

Old 12-14-2016, 08:55 AM
  #16  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (103)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 3,038
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bubonic-X View Post
LOW ET.... Where how did you get one? What was the cost?
https://www.absolutehobbyz.com/KO-Pr..._p_510447.html
LOW ET is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2016, 01:44 PM
  #17  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: El Mirage, AZ, USA
Posts: 1,443
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I understand that the Rx has special circuits to improve performance. But, 163.00 for a Rx!!!! That's ridiculous! There are total radios that don't cost that much!
Bubonic-X is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2016, 01:46 PM
  #18  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (103)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 3,038
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

right, big money. i was like YIKES when i seen that.
LOW ET is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2016, 01:47 PM
  #19  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: El Mirage, AZ, USA
Posts: 1,443
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

So basically I have to buy another radio to race another vehicle
Bubonic-X is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 05:21 PM
  #20  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (103)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 3,038
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

does anyone know if someone sells a fitted (pre-cut to the radio shape) foam transmitter case insert for the ex-2/ex-rr radios?
LOW ET is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 08:01 PM
  #21  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LOW ET View Post
does anyone know if someone sells a fitted (pre-cut to the radio shape) foam transmitter case insert for the ex-2/ex-rr radios?
Also very interested in this ..
aussie372 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 07:50 PM
  #22  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Just found out the servo neutral is 0.375ms when HCS is enable. Normal mode is 1.5ms. Sanwa is 0.297 ms. so sanwa may have faster frame rate but KO will may have less erro because of it dual receiver. will report back when I hook up the ex-rr to my vrc adaptor and compare to M12s data.
cup racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 04:02 PM
  #23  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
jdawg81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My EX-RR came with two KR-415FHD receivers with long 210mm antenna wires instead of the short one at 90mm. Is it ok to trim the wire down to the shorter length?
jdawg81 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 11:50 PM
  #24  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default shorten the antenna

here is a thread about shortening the antenna.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...r-antenna.html

the second last page should contain the answer you are looking for.
I think what it said is: basically the front part of the antenna lead is a shielded coxial cable and the last 31mm unshielded tip is used to receive signal. You can trim the antenna lead to the length you like and leave the last 31mm unshielded. Of course the higher the antenna, the longer the range. (i guess less error too ) Hope this help.url]

Last edited by cup racer; 12-29-2016 at 12:11 AM. Reason: more info
cup racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 08:57 PM
  #25  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
jdawg81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cup racer View Post
here is a thread about shortening the antenna.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...r-antenna.html

the second last page should contain the answer you are looking for.
I think what it said is: basically the front part of the antenna lead is a shielded coxial cable and the last 31mm unshielded tip is used to receive signal. You can trim the antenna lead to the length you like and leave the last 31mm unshielded. Of course the higher the antenna, the longer the range. (i guess less error too ) Hope this help.url]
Thanks, looks like I will need to open the receiver case to shorten the antenna and solder the trimmed wire to the pcb. I think for now I will leave it as it is.
jdawg81 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 08:49 PM
  #26  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 34
Default EX-RR rattles

Every component of my EX-RR rattles if I shake it...like there are loose paper clips in it. The dispay unit, the radio unit, and the wheel assembly all do it. Seems to work ok. Very annoying and cheap sounding though.

Anyone else have this issue? None of my cheap RTR radios do this.
Magnus75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 09:32 PM
  #27  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tearin' up tracks in CT
Posts: 993
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Magnus75 View Post
Every component of my EX-RR rattles if I shake it...like there are loose paper clips in it. The dispay unit, the radio unit, and the wheel assembly all do it. Seems to work ok. Very annoying and cheap sounding though.

Anyone else have this issue? None of my cheap RTR radios do this.
and to think i was just about to pull the trigger on one of these. that is such a bummer. how ridiculous is it that the highest end radios always seem to have rtr tx-like issues and even more funny is that rtr tx a lot of the time don't have these isolated and random annoying issues but the f****n $500 radios do?!!! its so azzzz bakwards. They really gotta turn things around its embarrassing for everyone in rc
sn47som1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 10:52 AM
  #28  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,911
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LOW ET View Post
does anyone know if someone sells a fitted (pre-cut to the radio shape) foam transmitter case insert for the ex-2/ex-rr radios?
I'm sure KO will have an insert for their own radio box soon enough.

The Ex-1 is a damn close fit if you need one ASAP.

Rp
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 10:54 AM
  #29  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,911
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Magnus75 View Post
Every component of my EX-RR rattles if I shake it...like there are loose paper clips in it. The dispay unit, the radio unit, and the wheel assembly all do it. Seems to work ok. Very annoying and cheap sounding though.

Anyone else have this issue? None of my cheap RTR radios do this.
Mine doesn't do this at all. I'd suggest contacting KO and asking them what to do with it.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 11:00 AM
  #30  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (103)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 3,038
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I'm sure KO will have an insert for their own radio box soon enough.

The Ex-1 is a damn close fit if you need one ASAP.

Rp
cool, and thanks for the tip on the EX-1 foam.
LOW ET is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service