Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
*NEWBIE QUESTION* Transmitters Explained >

*NEWBIE QUESTION* Transmitters Explained

*NEWBIE QUESTION* Transmitters Explained

Old 01-31-2016, 08:02 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default *NEWBIE QUESTION* Transmitters Explained

Hey everyone. Im new to rc/off road racing. I recently bought a scte 2.0 (used) that is setup well (well beyond my ability).

I have a spektrum dx2 radio right now.

I went to my first race yesterday, and with asking as much advice as I could at the club race. The most common response was that a better transmitter will help me out (besides getting A LOT of track time in)

I was gathering so much info at the race that I was hard to retain it all.

Could some of you veteran racers on here please explain the features/benefits of a higher end transmitter? I am having a hard time searching to find what everything does on these. (for example. What is the benefit of a 4 channel radio for a surface radio?)

Please point me in the right direction (any other advice will be well appreciated)

Thanks
Old 02-01-2016, 02:38 AM
Tech Adept

The main thing that matter is response time, then accuracy and reliability of the signal. All else is just BS.

Some functions might be needed for some models like brake mixing, abs etc. but you would probably know if you needed them.

For response time Graupner and the high end Sanwas are top. Graupner does state 1.5 ms, and the Sanwas just state they are the fastest but with no numbers to actually back it up. Also very important is that the response time remains constant. The cheap ones can fluctuate from 30ms to 70ms or even more randomly.

Bad news is none of this can be measured easily and you won't find it in the tech specs. So people usually choose what the top guys run which is mostly Sanwa.
Old 02-01-2016, 08:39 AM
Tech Initiate