Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Maclan Racing Products Discussion >

Maclan Racing Products Discussion

Like Tree125Likes

Maclan Racing Products Discussion

    Hide Wikipost
Old 08-30-2018, 09:59 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech ForumsThread Wiki: Maclan Racing Products Discussion
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Cain
Updates here

Print Wikipost

Reply

Old 11-30-2015, 08:22 AM
  #31  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (256)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,519
Trader Rating: 256 (100%+)
Default

For the 4 pole 550 thing, be nice to have the option. Most tracks aren't running full on roar rules, especially in the 4x4 sct class.

Ideally, I woudl want something that offers better level of performance that the HW 4000Kv 3656SD motor has. Also, the longer motor shaft it offers is a very nice feature.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2015, 09:56 PM
  #32  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,932
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
so just to clarify...

new company, new products, same people (engineers, promo guys like nikos, drivers, financial backers)?
Yep - new company, new factory, 100% different and new products. Same group of people dedicated to the design, sales and service. As well as a loyal team of drivers who believe in what we do and how we do it.
nikos2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2015, 09:58 PM
  #33  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,932
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ashxxx View Post
what i heard was they comming out with new stuff but reason was had to change name due to different company having same name.
Nope..... but it will be nice to not get those yearly letter from Dodge saying we can't use that name. It was always fun to show them we could.
nikos2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 08:59 AM
  #34  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (256)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,519
Trader Rating: 256 (100%+)
Default

so, is there any "compatibilty" we may see between the Viper line of progauges and the Maclan ESCs? Be cool if could get some reuse there.

And will maclan have a esc represented that can handle 1S usage?
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 09:28 AM
  #35  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Jim Hustins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 1,658
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
so, is there any "compatibilty" we may see between the Viper line of progauges and the Maclan ESCs? Be cool if could get some reuse there.

And will maclan have a esc represented that can handle 1S usage?
Sorry to say, but no. Since it is 100% new, the new Maclan ESC's will have a different programming card.
Jim Hustins is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 09:38 AM
  #36  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (256)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,519
Trader Rating: 256 (100%+)
Default

ah darn Oh well, be curious on the features of this card. The features the Vipers had were great, especially the whole profile thing. Looking forward to seeing what the Maclin line up does.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 09:45 AM
  #37  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
SUPERLOOPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dalton,Ga
Posts: 2,238
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

We have been testing product for a while guys. I assure you the brass wants it right before it hits the shelf. The product will be worth the wait.

Brian
SUPERLOOPER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 03:24 AM
  #38  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (129)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,860
Trader Rating: 129 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nikos2002 View Post
Yep - new company, new factory, 100% different and new products. Same group of people dedicated to the design, sales and service. As well as a loyal team of drivers who believe in what we do and how we do it.

Got it. That makes sense. Best of luck with the new line.
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 06:44 AM
  #39  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (256)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,519
Trader Rating: 256 (100%+)
Default

alright so, anyone got experience with the maclan stuff that has been released? I am curious to hear more about the features of the programming card.

Also, will the maclan programming card make it into combos with future speed controls or will it be totally alacart?
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 11:13 PM
  #40  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,932
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
alright so, anyone got experience with the maclan stuff that has been released? I am curious to hear more about the features of the programming card.
Right now, the card will only allow you to program the speed controls and give you the ability to download software to update the speed control when available. It comes with USB to connect to computer when needed.

We designed more features in the last unit. Small minority of people actually used them. Easier to make it simpler and save you guys a couple of bucks.

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
Also, will the maclan programming card make it into combos with future speed controls or will it be totally alacart?
At some point, down the road, when the sensored systems are released there will be a combo option. We aren't there just yet.
nikos2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2015, 09:09 AM
  #41  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (256)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,519
Trader Rating: 256 (100%+)
Default

okay sounds good. So no "link" needed, just the card. nice!
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2015, 08:35 PM
  #42  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,932
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
okay sounds good. So no "link" needed, just the card. nice!
The card is the Link!!! The ProLink

nikos2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 05:56 AM
  #43  
Tech Initiate
 
afm237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 40
Default

I just ordered a Diamondback 80A Brushless ESC Combo with MX540 5000kv motor from Stormer hobbies, $119.99! at this price point it's a good deal, if it's even close to what Viper was it's a steal. It will be going in my SC10FT (XFactory SCX-61 some day).
afm237 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 02:33 PM
  #44  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (256)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,519
Trader Rating: 256 (100%+)
Default

cool on the card. one less thing is always a plus.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 09:50 PM
  #45  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
slashman404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 77
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Upgrade

Sorry if this has been answered but I have been out of the racing world for about 6 months so I was surprised to see the change. With that being said I thought I saw mentioned that there will be the possibility to upgrade our old viper products like the vtx10 be to a new Maclean product at a discount? Is that true and if so when will the new sensored products be available. Thanks.
slashman404 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service